We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a highlight of our trip”

Giovanni's Ristorante & Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fine Italian cuisine in a friendly and informal atmosphere. Giovanni's provides an elegant and delicious Italian dining experience 6 evenings per week. Reservations strongly recommended. Patio open in summer. Everything from pastas, to steak, seafood, chicken, veal, lamb, and gluten-free options. Extensive wine list. Open from 5 pm - 9 pm. Lounge open at 12 pm for lunch.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“a highlight of our trip”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

our4th night of travel on Vancouver Island and this is the best meal yet. Amazing food, best Italina this side of New York. great service it changed our minds regarding Qualicum Beach.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank partygirlhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    65
    33
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“The best all around restaurant in North America.”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My friends and I have been for dinner at this establishment, at least 10 times in the last 2 years. We have never been disappointed; on the contrary, we have always experienced very friendly and knowledgeable staff; the owners are diligent in their management and they show maximum flexibility in their attitude and dealings with their patrons.
On the gastronomical side, It is always a delight; they take the utmost care in preparing and serving food that never fails to surprise us, in the precise application of the appropriate amount of spices(individually undetectable, but blended superbly).
From steaks to pastas, it is always perfect.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gilles p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Errington, Canada
1 review
“amazing food and service”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We heard of Giovanni's through a friend and decided to try it as we have been talking about going there for a while. The staff was friendly and very polite, the food was amazing and the wine selection was huge. I have no idea about the negative comments because we showed up with a toddler and wearing flip flops and received a very warm welcome and amazing service. We did make reservations as well.
We will definitely return for another awesome dining experience

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluesheild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This restaurant has a good location on 2nd Avenue - pleasantly decorated; but many of the tables are down an aisleway heading to the bathrooms which were in too close proximity to our table. Both times we visited this restaurant we were seated in this unpleasant location. I think I was expecting really good Italian food and felt let down. If you are looking for delicious spaghetti/meatballs , gnocchi etc. it is not here. They offer an option of dinner for 2 or 4 persons - three course. I did not find this to be a pleasant experience.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freedom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB Canada
1 review
“Another wonderful experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

It was our 41st anniversary so we decided to go to Giovanni's again as we have been away since last fall. They treated us like long lost friends, the food was amazing, and the service was terrific. Best of all, Giovanni and Helen welcome everyone like family. Best Italian food on Vancouver Island. By the way, if you have gluten allergy don't shy away, try their gluten free pasta!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtsmith18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Ristorante & Lounge also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Giovanni's Ristorante & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing