We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Charm of Qualicum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charm of Qualicum
Ranked #2 of 21 Qualicum Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crossfield, Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was going to my nephews wedding on the Island and my sister and I stayed at the Charm from Friday July 20th for three nights. I myself have never experienced a stay at a B & B before but my sister has. She researched B & B'S prior to us going and we booked it. I was not sure about staying in someone's home as I usually travel all inclusive but I was willing to give it a try. As we arrived we were welcomed with a very warm and caring greeting and it just got better from there. Our rooms were very lovely and the beds so comfortable. The house is so clean and the breakfast was more than you could imagine. All home cooked and alot of options of healthy wonderful food and organic juices and great coffee. The yard is so pretty and well maintained and I was able to enjoy my coffee and cigarette in the morning out in the beautiful yard, I have never been treated so great before, Siggy & Detlef just love to be able to help you with anything you would ever need, all you have to do is ask if you needed anything. Detlef even boosted our car for us, thanks again for that. My sister had to leave at 4AM on the Monday and they got up to make sure everything was good for her and even wanted to make her breakfast before she departed. Our overall experience was fantastic and would recommend this B & B and would love to stay again on my next trip. I feel that we made life long friends and also exprienced sharing the home with a lovely couple and their three wonderful children. Thanks again Detlef and Sigrid

Room Tip: It took a evening for me to get used to road noise but was ok after that as I live in a small quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detlef E, Owner at Charm of Qualicum, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hello Rosali,
many,many thanks for the great commentar. We read it in the morning just at breakfast time and also Mike jumped up and looked at our computer. For all of us it was a great start in the day!
Hope to see you here again. Hopefully with your husband or/and Carol and her family.
Greetings to Carol, too. We will keep you in mind.
Warm regards
Siggy, Detlef and TOM (the Dalmatian!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
75
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had a lovely overnight stay at the "Charm" - our hosts were like friends instantly - wonderful hospitality and everything in our room was superb quality, very clean and spacious - an attractive home and a delicious breakfast. Our hosts were very friendly and kind. We would be very glad to go back. David and Judy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterdavidson1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detlef E, Owner at Charm of Qualicum, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Judy, dear Peter,
thank you for this wonderful review and the artistic picture .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was so happy to find this b&b! The hosts, Sigrid and Detlef are warm, generous and helpful. The room I stayed in had the most comfortable bed with the most beautiful linen. ..and the bathroom was extravagant. I had bicycled from Crofton and arrived around 9 p.m.. I was tired! This clean 'bavarian' room was much better then I ever imagined and the breakfast generous and healthy. There is no view and you are not on the water but if you are looking for a good night's sleep you will find it here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan00969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detlef E, Owner at Charm of Qualicum, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for the nice comentar. Hope to see you again.
Warm regards
Detlef and Sigrid Weismueller-Ehrhardt
Charm of Qualicum B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Detlef and Siggy are generous and charming hosts with great humor and sense of fun. Their home is beautiful and clean they make you feel right at home. The breakfasts are nice and big and there is a great relaxed atmosphere. I loved our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawnybd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detlef E, Owner at Charm of Qualicum, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. Hope to see you again.
Warm regards
Detlef and Sigrid Weismueller-Ehrhardt
Charm of Qualicum B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This small B and B (two or three guest rooms?) is on a suburban street so the location isn't the charm in the name. However, the hosts are very helpful, generous and always smiling; our room was nice and featured a large and recently updated bathroom (shower AND tub, plus two sinks); the interior of the house is well appointed; and the breakfast was large. While not on the water, the location is very near the beach and a beautiful, wooded park, and about three minutes by car from town.

Room Tip: Ask for the first-floor bedroom. (The upstairs room[s] may be nice, too, but we know the first-floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paraisodemonteverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detlef E, Owner at Charm of Qualicum, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review.
Hope to see you again......
Warm regards!
Detlef and Siggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a lovely Bed & Breakfast. You could not ask for a better location, walking distance from most main attractions of Qualicum Beach or a quick drive to everything this picturesque town has to offer. The owners Siggy & Detlef are incredibly friendly and welcoming, the type of host who are really happy to have you in their home. Being at this B&B feels like being a your favorite relative's home, very pleasant, very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detlef E, Owner at Charm of Qualicum, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! Hope to see you again....
Warm regards!
Siggy and Detlef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

we stayed at the charm of qualicum im May of this year. The owners do a wonderful full breakfast with homemade cereals terrific egg dishes and special bread.
I do recommend the prince of Bavaria room with an adjunct bathroom.
They free DVD selection a classic and a walk at the beach adds to the perfect holiday feeling.

The owners Siggy and Detlef are very attentative and cheerful with a German attitude.
Maggy +Klaus

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margretlindenberg191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detlef E, Owner at Charm of Qualicum, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for your review! We would appreciate to spoil you again at
Charm of Qualicum B&B.
Warm regards
Sincerely
Detlef and Sigrid Weismueller-Ehrhardt
1-250-738-0907
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
0.2 mi away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.9 mi away
Buena Vista by the Sea
Buena Vista by the Sea
#4 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Rosetta Bed & Breakfast
La Rosetta Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 21 in Qualicum Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shorewater Resort
Shorewater Resort
#3 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charm of Qualicum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm of Qualicum

Property: Charm of Qualicum
Address: 406 Cypress Rd | British Columbia, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 1G5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Qualicum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charm of Qualicum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jewel, of Vancouver Island, the picturesque village of Qulicum Beach beckons you... Perfectly situated to enjoy the natural beauty of this lovely Oceanside town is our B&B, "Charm of Qualicum". This gracious heritage home offers all the amenities to pamper you at the end of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Charm of Qualicum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing