We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Charming Place with an amazing View”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riviere du Loup
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Au Vieux Fanal
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at this fabulous motel for a night on our way back to Ontario..Such a nice comfortable, clean motel and oh my Goodness what a wonderful view. Owner are sweet, charming and very accommodating!! Cant wait to stay there again

Room Tip: ask for a room along the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanju222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 75 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked this motel after reading glowing reviews on TripAdvisor (and rightly ignoring one lone critical review) and we are so happy we did! The views were breathtaking, the motel well maintained and our room was comfortable and spotless. Free coffee in the morning and the smiles of the lovely lady who owns the motel all made for a perfect overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Check-in was very warm and hospitable--felt like we were family being welcomed home. We are not bilingual,but the owners are and were very helpful in arranging our whale watching cruise. Hotel VERY clean--bed firm and comfy. Right off coast road--but very quiet. Sunset views were Kodak moments to be treasured forever.

Room Tip: Gr888888 river views from Room 35
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristiansRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I originally read the reviews on Motel Au Vieux Fanal on this site. We made this the second stop on our approximately 5000 mile motorcycle trip. We were delighted that we did.
The owners are fantastic people!
We were very impressed with their hospitality and charm!
Our room was perfect for two people and really quite charming and lovely !
They suggested a great Italianrestaurant in the area (walking distance) which we went to that evening and loved!!!
We were rained on- on the way in that day one of only two days of any rainfall during the two week trip.... they let us borrow a couple of fans from their home to dry our coats that night which worked perfectly!
The motel is super clean with a great view!
We would definitely go back and stay there!
Highly recommended !!!
Very nice couple/ very nice place!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelebelle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Again this year we stayed at the Motel Au Vieux Fanal. As it is every year the whole experience was excellent. Different this year is that we stayed in one of the larger units. The extra room to move around was well worth the added cost. The sunsets from the river view rooms is phenomenal. The pool at this motel is outdoors and heated. Unfortunately I always seem to bring either rain or cooler weather when I visit. A bit of a joke between me and the owners, but when I am able to use it, it's great.

Room Tip: All rooms that I have stayed in are great. The smaller rooms are very small, but great if you are ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigfatoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

On July 21, 2013 we were at Motel Au Vieux Fanal, Rivière-du-Loup. The owner accommodates us because we wanted 3 beds. We stayed not in the motel in the basement of a house which was to be rented. We had 2 rooms, with large beds, TV, table, fridge, microwave, etc... We were like home but in a basement. The only thing was that the toilet was smelling and one of the bed was not very good. We advised the owner and she said that she will look at it. We had coffee in the morning, the place was very quiet. We paid 127 $ for three beds, 3 persons. There was no accommodation for 3 persons and three beds. Most of the motels are like that, even Hotel Lévesque Best Wester+.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank France B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were very clean and fresh smelling and the owner very kind and accommodating. The pool was very nice too and we had a spectacular view on the St. Lawrence. The sunset is amazing. The owner gave us free coffee in the morning and welcomed us back anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigerclaw1785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riviere du Loup hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
#4 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
516 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
#9 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
125 reviews
2.2 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#2 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Universel
Hotel Universel
#5 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
655 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Au Vieux Fanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Au Vieux Fanal

Address: 170 rue Fraser, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 1C8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Bas-Saint-Laurent > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful spot with an exceptional view on the river. Most beautiful sunsets in the world. Excellent service. Many excellent restaurants nearby (walking distance). Near downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Au Vieux Fanal Riviere Du Loup, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing