We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, why stay at chains???”
Review of Motel Loupi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel Loupi
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Motel Loupi is as others have stated very clean. It is very quiet being off the main hiway a bit. Bathrooms are immaculate and a good view over the estuary coming off the St. Lawrence. There is a nice walk along the water that ends at the ferry landing that goes across the St. Lawrence. Along the way you find the Christmas castle all lit up with Christmas music in July!

I just met Luc Genereux the owner manager and he is very personable-we chatted for a while as my good friend back home has the same surname with presumably the same ancestry.

The Motel Loupi is a real find. In this day and age of homogenization of our economy it is nice to have an option such as this motel. Thanks to TripAdvisor I felt comfortable booking it. Unfortunately driving by on the freeway and not knowing anything about it I probably would have ended up at a "known quantity.

Room Tip: There are some rooms without the view. So I would ask for the view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank profemeritus216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Prof Emeritus

thank you for the good notes on our performance as your hosts

Francine and I thank you for staying with us ans hope that the drought will see an end in your beautiful California

say hello the the Genereux people in California for us

regards

luc and francine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 225 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

We asked for a room with a view and that is what we got. Room was large, clean, a comfy bed plus all amenities, coffee pot, fridge, microwave. It was a great room for our last night squeezing all our clothes back in cases. We will certainly stop again next time we visit the Gaspe.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidWGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Hello, we want to thank you for your review of our motel,

we sincerely accept your kind words and do not forget to tell your friends

regards

luc and francine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The room was beautifully appointed and was lacking nothing as far as needs go. The owner was friendly and helpful, also spoke English. The view from the room was great and the town was easily accessible,

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have a great view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nice and comfort motel with a great view on the city and the shore.
Tenants are very nice and the rooms are large and very clean,and there is a large balcony with chairs.
The motel is next to the downtown of Rivière du loup and just two streets away from the 132 road.
Just next door, there is the biggest christmas shop in Canada, and his amazing castle you can visit! Very kitsch!
So,the motel Loupi is a good spot to stop along the navigator road.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Clement C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We want to thank you for your comments , we wish you a good winter season and Happy Holidays .

we will be here when you will come back some day
regards

luc and francine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Motel Loupi on our way back from PEI September 16th. The motel is located very close to the water and is very easy to find off the highway. Luc is the owner and is very personable. Dogs are accepted and there are many places to walk one near the property. Rooms are spacious and clean and the room we stayed in looked like it was recently upgraded - Bathroom was fantastic. The night we were there we needed to turn on the heat and there were no issues with the heating unit and there was no sound of the fan - bonus! My impression of 'most' motels is 'cheap' but Motel Loupi is DEFINITELY not like other motels you see on the highway. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. The only reason I could not give it a 5/5 was because there was no restaurant on site or next door. There is a St. Hubert chicken take out less than 3 minutes by car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hello

thank you for the nice cooments , we were in the local newspaper about our rating in Tripadvisor and our No 1 spot , we thank all travelers who took the time to write to us or about us

thank you again

luc and francine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were on a road trip this past July and once we reached Riviere de Loupe we had car trouble. We were towed to the town and had to stay overnight. We ended up staying at Motel Loupi for two nights while our car was being repaired. the owner mr Genereux was very kind , he even let us use his own personal car to get to town and pick up food and to check up on our car at the auto shop. The motel was very clean, comfortable, affordable, and had lovely grounds to walk or sit and relax. Out of a bad situation it ended up being a windfall to have encountered such a kind, compassionate man who made our stay memorable. I will be going back for a visit again in the near future, great place , great staff!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Hello Josephine

thank you for your kind words

it was a pleasure to transform your bad luck into a good experience

I hope you will come back some day

I hope you had a good vacation, please send my regards to your mate and companions

luc and francine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for one night, Friday 6 September 2013. We had traveled from Nova Scotia that day, and used Trip Advisor to find a well-rated motel in Riviere-du-Loup. We booked online using bookings.com. We were trying to find a happy medium between being economical and not being a total dive. We definitely found it in this place. We arrived, the owner efficiently settled the bill and gave us our keys, with some instruction as to where to eat and walk, Property was lovely, but very very hilly - not a negative point, just a little surprise. Our room had a lovely view of the St. Lawrence, and of Riviere-du-Loup. The bathroom was spotless, and looked recently renovated, with an air-jet tub. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the room, the location, and the amenities (coffee, tv, refrigerator). Over all impression was of cleanliness and warmth. We slept well, and were on the road early the next day. Had a lovely hot shower, and no unhappiness staying here. Definitely a clean, economical place to sleep. Will recommend to anyone travelling through Riviere-du-Loup, and will stay here next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Erin

thank you for your nice comments , we sure try hard and work hard to make our little place by the river spotless as possible

Francine my wife is a devout cleaner and your comments show that her work has paid off

thank you for staying with us and we welcome you as our new adoptees
, welcome to the Loupi Club

luc and francine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riviere du Loup hotels
0.4 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#2 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
462 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
#4 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
646 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Universel
Hotel Universel
#5 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
#9 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Loupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Loupi

Address: 50 rue de l'Ancrage, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 6B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Bas-Saint-Laurent > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Riviere du Loup
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Price Range: $78 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Loupi 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Loupi is close to the exit 507 on Highway 20 and only 1 km from the ferry , we have 7 restaurants in a 1 km radius and a nice walking trail alongside the river.We offer 27 rooms and all rooms hace free wifi internet, tv , coffee maker, microwave, mini fridge, balcony or terrace, great view on the city , the river and the area is very quiet at night. free parking, free bicycles, gazebo , and game area for kids.Great stopover on your way to Gaspesie, Maritimes or Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Motel Loupi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Loupi Riviere Du Loup, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing