We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stop-Over”
Review of Motel Loupi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel Loupi
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stop-Over”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great little motel. Nice quiet street. Exceptionally friendly and welcoming staff. Very, very clean rooms. No A/C but it was a cooler night so it was fine. Very cute little place. Our room had a rocking chair and after a long drive from NS, it was nice to just sit and relax with the nice breeze coming through the balcony door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveydovey001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello

thank you for a quick and accurate description , good to read your comments, hope to see you again

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    82
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
85
82
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed one night in August on the way to Cape Breton from Montreal. Our room was big and very clean. We had nice view on the water. You can take a free bike to explore the area. Restaurants are close by. Owner is friendly and very helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iryna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello

thank you for appreciating all the hard work that we put in this season

We hope to see more people like you come to see with their own eyes that is is what we say it is

We treat the people as we wish we would be treated, so we will not change that principle

This motel is sure a way of life

thanks

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This was an excellent stopover for our family! Large room, clean, comfy beds, nice view, love that there's no carpet. There's a kids play area and lots of room to run around. Plus, there's picnic tables and a solarium to eat at in case you want to order in or bring your own food. Quiet road away from traffic... Unlike the other motels in town. About a 10 min walk/1min drive to restaurants. Overall very cozy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello

good morning, what a way to start a day, thank you for your analysis of our advantages compared to others properties,

we are thankful for your comments and hope that your friends and family will adopt us too.

regards

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

As a gateway motel to Canada East or Gaspe they do not disappoint. Based on the reviews we tried them and received exactly what we expected. It is a well updated, impeccably clean motel. The rooms are in fact sound proof but the lack of AC may force you to leave the windows open. If the neighbours are reasonable, no worries. The motel does post a "no party or loud noise accepted" warning. Based on our limited interaction with the pleasant and perfectly bilingual owner, I am sure they would react to any noise complaint. They have invested to much to not ensure that everyone has a great stay. You feel right at home as soon as you book. In our case, no deposit and just pay when you show up, nice touch.

Pros: updated, clean, modern bathroom and fixtures, location and ease of access, friendly owners, nice outdoor gazebo and kids play structure

Con: no air conditioning - not needed in this region but is quickly becoming a North American creature comfort. We're spoiled! Hahaha

Conclusion: I would recommend you book without hesitation. Rooms with view are nice but the others also seem perfectly fine. Love to find the independent operators that do it right.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for a beautiful opinion of our efforts to remain independant

we are tired but happy because it is a lot of work but comments like this are a reward that are worth all our efforts

we thank you for staying with us and there is extra pillows in the drawers and we have kept wool blankets in our beds all summer ,

thanks again for visiting

regards

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed at Motel Loupi with my husband and my mother - in - law on our way home to Ottawa from a wedding in P.E.I. It was the perfect halfway spot. It was easy to find. We spotted it across the water, with its orange/red paint, and with the large Loupi standing by.

The owner is lovely - warm and welcoming.

The rooms, refreshingly, did not have carpets, and everything was unbelievably and meticulously clean !

Some reviewers talked about hard beds and lack of pillows. This is true, but it did not stop us from sleeping like logs.

The grounds of the motel are very pleasant - lots of flower borders, a screened - in pergola ,
lawn chairs, and a play area.

Our room faced the water and the view was spectacular.

We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask to face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear eccentric travelers

we are so happy that you found us first , and second found us eccentric

we love that we sure work hard for that quality that you founf in our little place by the river

we love to read those comments of yours and sure hope to see you again

regards

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Loved Motel Loupi! Great service. Met the owner Luc, who was very friendly and helpful. Outdoor playground for the kids, gazebo to eat outside. Extremely clean room, especially the bathroom. 5 minutes away from a great walking trail. Great price. Would definitely come back again and recommend to anyone!

Stayed Aug 3rd, 2013
V&D De Giovanni

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello

thank you for taking th time to write your nice comments, we will accept them with pleasure ans we sure hope you will come back someday

thanks again , it is good to our tired bones

regards

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Well located right by the ferry and affordable. The owner is to be met if only for his warm welcome and his "Santa's beard". Great place for a stay with a family. Provides access to wi-fi but not the best reception; that'd be the only downside!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASFLXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello thanks for taking the time to give us your impressions of our little place by the river.

hope to see you again

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riviere du Loup hotels
0.4 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#2 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
400 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
#4 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
445 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Universel
Hotel Universel
#5 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
#10 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Loupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Loupi

Property: Motel Loupi
Address: 50 rue de l'Ancrage, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 6B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Riviere du Loup
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Loupi 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Loupi is close to the exit 507 on Highway 20 and only 1 km from the ferry , we have 7 restaurants in a 1 km radius and a nice walking trail alongside the river.We offer 27 rooms and all rooms hace free wifi internet, tv , coffee maker, microwave, mini fridge, balcony or terrace, great view on the city , the river and the area is very quiet at night. free parking, free bicycles, gazebo , and game area for kids.Great stopover on your way to Gaspesie, Maritimes or Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Motel Loupi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Loupi Riviere Du Loup, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing