We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good alternative to the chain hotels”
Review of Motel Loupi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel Loupi
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you plan on staying only a night or two in Rivière-du-Loup, you might as well book a room at this motel, rather than spend almost twice as much in the chain hotels, which are overpriced for a city which doesn't have that much to offer. Indeed, Rivière-du-Loup isn't a vacation destination but merely a pit stop on your way to or from the Maritimes or la Gaspésie. My wife and I booked a room with a double size bed, coffee maker, small fridge, microwave and a small card table. We got our money's worth for 85$. The owners do make an effort to keep the rooms clean and in good shape.The mattress was VERY hard (almost as plush as a piece of plywood), but nonetheless, we got a good night's sleep. Sound proofing is the definite blemish of this motel as you can hear conversation and impact noises from the adjacent rooms. A couple of bangs on the wall might get the people next door to simmer down; it worked for us. Still, I would recommend this hotel for 85 bucks a night. There's also a gazebo, a few lawn chairs and a playground on the premises. This motel also offers views of the St-Lawrence river. Some rooms offer better views than others. The view from our room was acceptable. We were in the back building (north wing).

Room Tip: For a premium St-Lawrence river view, choose a room in the front
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Motel Loupi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 224 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

This motel was a very pleasant surprise: great welcome by Luc at the reception desk. Spacious room with a balcony overlooking the river. Great beds, good bathroom, microwave and coffeemaker present. Luc instantly offered us more coffee and advice on where to go for dinner and what to see. The only minor thing was that the WIFI only worked outside on the balcony. The rest more than made up for it though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlies000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed one night here in a room with two double beds (went for the "deluxe" room)... very clean, spacious room with a balcony overlooking the river. Fridge and microwave in the rooms was a nice touch. All in all, a nice alternative to the boring chain hotels, and the owner was very friendly indeed. No breakfast included, but many places to eat nearby (Normandin, etc). Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnoopDoug99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel is comfortable, the rooms are clean and spacious. The hotel is located on top of a hill and offers a nice view of the St Laurence River and nearby area. It is also located not far from the ferry. The hotel staff is kind and sympathetic. We recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank sonis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc G, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank rap2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc G, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Cedric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc G, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riviere du Loup hotels
0.4 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#2 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
450 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
#4 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
486 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Universel
Hotel Universel
#5 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
#10 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Loupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Loupi

Address: 50 rue de l'Ancrage, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 6B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Riviere du Loup
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Price Range: $79 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Loupi 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Loupi is close to the exit 507 on Highway 20 and only 1 km from the ferry , we have 7 restaurants in a 1 km radius and a nice walking trail alongside the river.We offer 27 rooms and all rooms hace free wifi internet, tv , coffee maker, microwave, mini fridge, balcony or terrace, great view on the city , the river and the area is very quiet at night. free parking, free bicycles, gazebo , and game area for kids.Great stopover on your way to Gaspesie, Maritimes or Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Motel Loupi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Loupi Riviere Du Loup, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing