We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveler rating
147
191
87
35
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
147
191
87
35
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new section hot tub nordic spa nice hotel newer part snowmobile trip indoor pool great pool long trip the room was nice would stay here again easy access new brunswick nova scotia one night stay rialto trailer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 478 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2019

Stayed here for most of a week. Very large facility. Good parking.
Staff were helpful when checking in. We called ahead and made a reservation.
First impression is that this will be an expensive hotel - mid range price and well worth the money. It was actually cheaper than anticipated.
Room was very nice - lots of room, overlooked the outdoor pool.
Hallways were clean and the rooms well maintained. There have been a few additions to this place but easy to get around. Couple of different elevators to use to get to different floors.
Very clean, very quiet. Housekeeping was very good.
There are two restaurants attached / part of the hotel. Good food / service and reasonably priced. There was a buffet offered for dinner - very good selection / variety. A menu was also available if wanted.

Would recommend checking this place out if in the area. We would stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OntarioJK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Responsable de la réception at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share with us, and with our future guests, your honest opinion of your last stay with us. We are glad to know that all when well and that you were pleased by out friendly staff, au restaurant and our overall facilities. We pride ourselves by our high cleaning standard and are please to know that, during your stay, they were met. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon at Hotel Universel Rivière-du-Loup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our Gaspe snowmobile trip and were very pleased! The staff were all friendly, very nice clean rooms. The Nordic spa was a nice treat for massages when we returned from the trip. Lots of parking for truck and trailer and secure area for snowmobiles! The restaurant had good food, but the buffet was lackluster.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank LaraS446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Responsable de la réception at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share with us, and with our future guest, your honest review of your last stay with us. We are glad that you had a good experience with us and with our friendly front desk staff and all our facilities. We are always please to hear about our snowmobiler guests as we do our best every year to offer the best possible services. Your comment about the buffet will be passed to the restaurant management team. Reviews like yours are truly a source of motivation for our team. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019

Just staying for one night while driving out to St. John's NFLD, I departed from Ottawa at 9:30 am & pulled in to the Hotel Universal at 5:30 pm.. very friendly service.. lots of parking, the rooms are older but very clean.. & everything is available.. Keurig coffee machine, micro wave & fridge.. I just had a swim... the pool is nice.. not overly large, but the deep end is actually deep.. I also warmed up in the hot tub.. was nice relaxing after being on the road for 650 km & 7 hrs... the life guard was very friendly.. offered me a towel.. I offered her $5 tip, but she wouldn't take it.. said.. no,.. that's pretty good pool service.. the dining room opens at 6:30 am for breakfast.. I will probably be on my way.. as I am heading to Sydney, Nova Scotia on Wednesday.. & will be leaving early.. there's a fun pub on the main floor as well called Rialto.. for beer & finger foods.. watch the games.. great place to stay.. $120 a night.. can't beat it..

Room tip: the rooms facing away from the indoor pool are probably quieter..
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Responsable de la réception at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share with us, and with our future guest, your honest review of your last stay with us. We are glad that you had a good experience with us and with our friendly front desk staff and lifeguards! We are also glad that you were able to enjoy a nice quiet evening and enjoy yourself at our Resto-Bar the Rialto. Reviews like yours are truly a source of motivation for our team. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2018 via mobile

Great service hotel its clean room are big enough the restaurant food its really good pool and spa its clean and very nice really relaxing for speeding time in riviere du loup Staff and room service its number 1

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank X4871PLdianal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Responsable de la réception at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the pool area, our restaurants and our friendly staff! Reviews like yours are truly a source of motivation for our team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2018

Hotel is sited a little out of the main town so nothing "on your doorstep" .
Reception staff very friendly and welcoming.
Our room was clean and had all the usual facilities but was very dark, the lighting was not very bright.
Not sure if we were in the renovated section that other reviewers have mentioned or not.
There is a pool which was OK, a bit smaller than it looks in the hotel website pictures ! It is also overlooked by several rooms. There was also a spa section ( not visited though).
The most striking thing about this hotel though is the décor. Bright and bold especially in the bar. Not to our tastes but each to there own. Also the bar has several large slot machines which were a bit annoying
Free car parking and free wifi .

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angelasH8211SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Responsable de la réception at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, but especially with our future guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience, our friendly staff and our free parking lot. We always do our outmost to exceed our guest expectation and it’s only with honest review and feedback that we can achieve this goal. We will share your comments with our management team. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews