We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”
Review of Hotel Universel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Universel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel's excellent rooms are only surpassed by its friendly staff that are willing to help as needed. I had a broken foot and was in crutches. The staff was readily available to help my wife and I carry our luggages in and out at check in and out times with no extra charges and a sincerely care giving smile. Was not able to enjoy the pool, but sent very nice with a slide for the kids, spa services and two restaurants available to your liking. Also the available mini fridge in the room was nice too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highcar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction. These comments and recommendations will help us to maintain and excel in Customer service. Our entire staff was certainly pleased to have you as our guest in the hotel and appreciate the positive comments you provided. Once again thanks fo your kindliness. Hopefully we will see you again very soon in our great region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 385 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the way to the east coast. Staff were polite. It is easy to find off the highway. We had a room with teo double beds. The only real complaint I had was that the washrooom area was very small and with a low ceiling. The shower temperature was extremely difficult to control and was not very responsive. Water prrssure was weaker. A word of caution if you are from the city, food is a hassle to get later at night in this town, but the hotel quickly recommended a place for us

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank pizzahead7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We appreciate finding out what are our strong and weak points from your point of view. This is exactly the kind of comment we need to meet the expectations of the guests needs each stay. It is true that our location near by the highway provides a quick access to our hotel. Once again. thank you for your valuable comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

For anyone who has every done the central Canada to maritimes dash, this is an ideal overnight spot. An eclectic décor, a cozy resto bar and decent enough rooms (some with hot tubs), this hotel has a nice pool, welcoming lobby and free parking. The price isn't bad and over the years has become a mainstay for our family as we trek across Canada. Riviere du Loup is a charming town off the beaten path and the hotel itself is centrally located off the main highway and has some of the staple restaurants, pharmacies and other amenities one would expect. A real treat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLVDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay. We are certain your fellow travellers will appreciate it. Our perfect location near by the highway and the heart of Riviere-du-Loup, the great services provided from every employee and the comfort of our rooms make the Hotel Universel of Riviere-du-Loup the place to stay. We want to thank you for your loyalty at the Hotel Universel Riviere-du-Loup and hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hotel quite pleasant, but no tea bags, only coffee, and no refrigerator in our room, although web site advertises them in all rooms. Front Office staff were very helpful, and pool area is nice. Overall, would recommend this hotel for the price.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank rosemary26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank your for your comment. It is true that there is refrigerator, microwave and coffee-maker in each room as mentioned on our WebSite. Actually, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will recommend our hotel to others readers of Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was in town for a performance so I only stopped in for one night. Front desk staff was super friendly and didn't mind speaking English to me because I'm not fluent even though my group is mostly Francophones. Room was clean and had a Samsung flatscreen, wasn't expecting that. I saw there was an outside heated pool but I believe it was only available for extra cost to the spa. And also want to say the audience to our show that night was just delightful, too bad I didn't get to explore it a little further.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baritonekeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We would like to take the time to thank you for reviewing your last stay at the Hotel Universel of Riviere-du-Loup. We are pleased when guests share their experience and opinions on our hotel.
It is so gratifying to learn that we met your expectations.

We hope to see you again the next time you pass through Riviere-du-Loup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here one night, on our way from NB. We had a wonderful, clean room, great dinner and breakfast. We found the staff polite and welcoming, if mildly amused by our stilted, high school French (which wasn't required, but makes us feel good!). We would definitely stay there each road trip between Ontario and NB.

Room Tip: It's worth it to get the Jacuzzi after a long road trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maji2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Please accept our sincere thanks for the information you provided regarding your last visit with us. These comments will help us to maintain and excel in customer service. We are certain that it will help other readers make an informed decision about where to stay. We hope to have the chance to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We visited the hotel Universel in august. We got a reasonable discount from our hotel reservation site. Our first impression was horrible. The room was smelly (dirty carpet smell) and we found a dirty shower cap in the washroom on top of an empty tissue box (the only one in our room so, yeah, no tissue in the room). So long for a first impression. We slept ok, but the A/C was hard to control even by raising the temperature. The wind was blown directly on us, which was very not comfortable. If I didn't meet the staff the next day, I would have given a very bad review.

But the day after, we got help from the staff for an issue we had (that was not related to the hotel) and they were very nice, attentive to our needs and polite. Needless to say that service plays a role in client satisfaction. Therefore, I will blame room service for my bad room and will probably try the hotel again when I go back just to confirm I was simply unlucky during my last stay

Room Tip: Inspect the room. If it's not clean, ask for getting another one. I would have done so if I kne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtlTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We want to thank you on behalf of the Hotel Universel Riviere-du-Loup staff for taking the time to give the Trip Advisor readers and us some feedback on your stay. Your comments are very valuable to us and will allow us to improve every aspect of the establishement. We also want to apologiz for not delivering our promise of exceeding all your guest expectations on this past stay. We are definitely better than what you saw and you can rest assured that we do our outmost to deliver a better experience next time. We hope you will give us another chance and come back to visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riviere du Loup hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
637 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
220 reviews
2.9 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#2 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
#4 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
505 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
#9 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge Amerilys
Auberge Amerilys
#8 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel

Address: Boulevard de l'Hotel-De-Ville | 311, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 5S4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Bas-Saint-Laurent > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riviere du Loup
#6 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Price Range: $92 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Universel Riviere-du-Loup Hotel Universel in Riviere-du-Loup is pleased to welcome you to its brand-new, 220-room hotel in Riviere-du-Loup including 51 newly-built units. Hotel Universel offers a complete range of services specially designed to accommodate all the needs of its clientele, both business and tourist. Hotel Universel is your choice hotel in Riviere-du-Loup. We pride ourselves in being able to meet the expectations of all types of travelers with our variety of services and amenities, which is unique for a hotel in Riviere-du-Loup. Our extensive facilities include a state-of-the-art convention centre equipped with the latest in high-tech equipment; our excellent team of experienced lodging and food service professionals will ensure that your activities are an unqualified success. Our team at our hotel in Riviere-du-Loup is at your disposal to accompany you and advise you in organizing your wedding or your business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universel Hotel Riviere Du Loup
Hotel Universel Riviere Du Loup, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing