We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whale Watching at St. Andrews”

Fundy Tide Runners Whale Watching
Ranked #3 of 11 Tours in Saint Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Providing 19 years of whale watching experiences aboard our 25 foot Rigid Hulled Zodiac. Experience the Bay of Fundy and all the marine wildlife that thrives here. We pride ourselves on the exceptional journey offered and look forward to meeting you.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Whale Watching at St. Andrews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've been on 3 different whale watching tours out of St. Andrews, and this was the most fun. You ride in a zodiac (wearing a floatiing orange suit!), which is an adventure in itself, as it gets you from the wharf to the whale watching sites speedily; seeing whales isn't guaranteed on these trips, but the zodiac enables the group to zip from one possible viewing site to another. We saw whales, porpoises, seals, lots of birds, and a massive school of herring feeding. The tour guide was friendly and informative. 12 people max per tour, and competitive pricing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    25
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massey, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a wonderful time and would definitely use them again. We have watched in Tadoussac, Victoria BC, Gloucester MA and Cape Cod. This was only second to Tadoussac.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MetisDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whaleboy1010, Owner at Fundy Tide Runners Whale Watching, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We have been in the business of whale watching for 18 seasons and we appreciate your feedback. The Bay of Fundy is a wonderful place to go whale watching and we are glad you chose Fundy Tide Runners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great time whale watching with Fundy Tide Runners, definitely worth every penny. Dave and his wife were extremely friendly, enjoyable and knowledgeable. Being in a zodiac was fantastic and added to the fun and excitement of the trip. A major reason for our trip out east was to see the whales, and this ride definitely did not disappoint! We saw several whales (finbacks and a humpback), porpoises, seals and a bald eagle. I will definitely do this again if I have the chance, and I highly recommend Fundy Tide Runners to anyone looking to do some whale watching in Saint Andrews!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Domogap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My first trip to the Maritimes had to include some whale watching, and I had a great experience with Fundy Tide Runners. Dave (captain) is a funny character and is an enjoyable and knowledgeable guide. We saw many interesting sights - porpoises, seals, bald eagles, lighthouses, and of course a minke whale. It was a really fun time and it's quite a sight to see a whale in the wild. I really liked the idea of seeing it from a Zodiac boat because it seems more intimate. For sake of full disclosure - the ride is bouncy. Also fast, which I enjoy. It was a very memorable experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaelen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great whale watching with David Welch in his Zodiac boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I've done lots of whale watching trips from Alaska to Hawaii, first time in a zodiac boat, great way to see whales, we saw lots of finbacks and a few porpoise. The ride in a zodiac isn't for the "faint of heart", we were in the bow of the boat and took a beating with the waves etc., it was a lot of fun if you are O.K. with getting a little salt spray in your face and you don't mind the bumps. David is very entertaining and funny. I Would recommend this trip to a friend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LFox06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fundy Tide Runners Whale Watching also viewed

 
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 

Been to Fundy Tide Runners Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing