We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful inn, perfect location, great hosts”
Review of Treadwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Treadwell Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Saint Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2009

This historical inn is right on the waterfront at the edge of the downtown commercial area, so you can walk to most restaurants, shops and the wharf. It's great. There's off-street parking available. The room we had overlooked the water, with a wonderful balcony, and it was spacious, clean and comfortable with a sofa, tables and flat-screen TV. The linens were of excellent quality, breakfasts were tasty and pleasant (designed to please), the hosts were considerate, and we couldn't have been more satisfied. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 85 of 85 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2009

While I don't normally write reviews of places I've been, in the case of the Treadwell Inn, I feel compelled to do so. My husband and I decided on a bit of a whim, to brave the 9-hour drive from Montreal to St Andrews with our 2 yr old, for a 3 night stay. We'd spent the better part of the 2 days prior to our trip trying to figure out where to go and by the website photos and description of the town, The Treadwell Inn, in St Andrews was the only place that truly caught our eye. When you don't have a lot of time to spend somewhere, your accommodations can really make or break a vacation. For us, the Treadwell Inn far surpassed our expectations. The inn itself, the room, the location, everything was brilliant! We had fabulous weather and an incredible balcony from which to enjoy the breathtaking view. I'm not sure they usually allow young children but in our case it was never mentioned one way or another and our son had such a good time he still talks about "the hotel" months later! I would, and will, absolutely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travels_in_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

The worst part of our stay at the Treadwell Inn was that we only stayed one night!!! This was a stop-over for us on the way to Nova Scotia. I could say immaculate, spotless, super clean and still could not convey to you how clean this place is...I walked into our bath and thought "I could eat on any surface here!" Jerry and Annette are pleasant hosts, their location is great, the town is quaint and lovely. Breakfast was very good, as was our comfortable bed, and did I say it was clean? You understand by now! You won't go wrong staying at the Treadwell...gorgeous views and take a look around at the inn -- you won't believe the house was built in 1820; it is in incredibly beautiful condition.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We booked the Treadwell on our way through one of prettiest spots on earth, St. Andrews-by-the-Sea and left wishing we could have stayed much longer. Situated directly on a beautiful bay, the Treadwell's many decks and private balconies are the perfect place for guests to watch some of the world's highest tides come in and out twice daily. Inside, the Inn is equally breathtaking. Rooms are beautifully and comfortably appointed with original art, the best beds and bedding, plus spacious jacuzzis and tasteful antique furniture. Efficiency suites are well equipped for the traveler who chooses not to go out to the myriad lobster spots nearby! Owners Jerry and Annette Mercer have managed to perfect that rare combination of elegance and warmth and we recommend this Inn to anyone who loves beautiful surroundings (inside and out) and attention to the small things that make life and travel so wonderful.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank roberin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights recently. It is conveniently located right on the main street area of Saint Andrews. There is parking on the side street and you can walk to many nice restaurants and shop in the wonderful stores downtown. At one point I'd considered staying at the Algonquin, but for us this location was great because of the proximity to downtown. There is only 4 rooms in this Inn I think and there is a restaurant downstairs. Unfortunately, because of our short visit we never got to try it out. The 2nd night of our visit we were going to eat their but we were on the Tall ship Whale Watching Tour that got back later than usual that night so the dining area was closing up. The kitchen staff were very kind in getting us ice. The room was beautiful and a very good price. $139 CAD. Nice 4 poster bed and nice clean bathroom. It was facing the street but we never noticed it was noisy. This is a very good choice for a visit to Saint Andrew's.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank NanfromNapanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

We were only able to spend one night at the Treadwell Inn. This waterfront inn in the historic district has a great view of the Passamaquoddy Bay. Some rooms have waterfront balconies, but our room faced Water Street. I was concerned about possible street noise, but it wasn't an issue at all. We even opened the windows during the night to enjoy the brisk air. The bed was comfortable, room was spotless and nicely decorated. Clean, clean, clean! Coffee downstairs the following morning. There is a restaurant downstairs, but it was closed the Sunday night we were there. The owners, Annette and Jerry are delightful.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anyuserid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Andrews hotels
3.4 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on Frederick
Inn on Frederick
#3 of 13 in Saint Andrews
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Montague Rose B&B
The Montague Rose B&B
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treadwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treadwell Inn

Address: 129 Water St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Price Range: $166 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront property with king beds and private balconies overlooking the sea. Relax by the outdoor fire or in our beautiful garden by the waters edge. Historic Building In the heart of town with private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Treadwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treadwell Inn Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing