We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Montague Rose B&B
Ranked #2 of 13 Saint Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A beautiful home on a quiet street in a quaint town that we could walk to. Our room was large and well appointed. Great bathroom!! Our Innkeeper Joe was friendly, helpful and informative....but would have enjoyed meeting his wife, and maybe even staying a second night. We loved the town which wasn't touristy. Able to see many sites and thoroughly enjoyed Kingsbrae Gardens, 27 acres of flowers, fall trees, lakes, and an amazing sculpture garden. Lunch on the grounds and watching the alpacas romping on the grass was priceless! . Touched by the Celtic Cross and honoring those who died fleeing from the potato famine; seeing the last standing wooden blockhouse; walking the neighborhood reading the plagues on the homes, etc. A step back in time in a peaceful setting that we will always remember. Thank you Joe and Saint Andrews, you lived up to your name.

Room Tip: Our room, the Ballyhaunis Room, was perfect. Beautifully decorated. Loved the windows. On a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 48thAnniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 261 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Friendly, clean comfortable with convenient local access. We stayed in the Ballyhaunis Room for three nights. Canopy bed, great space and a large custom two head shower. The bathroom was not featured in the online pics so it was a nice surprise. Joe made a tasty, satisfying breakfast each morning. Nothing is far away in St Andrews so the location was fine. Two highlights were the Kingsbrae Gardens and the half day we spent on the Jolly Breeze a 75'Sloop chasing whales - the sloop was a great choice. Bought as great Irish cap at the Kit and Kaboodle.

Room Tip: Large comfortable bed. Great shower. Ballyhaunis Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicco914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A very enjoyable night at "The Montague Rose". Elegant house, charming hosts, superb breakfast and a great sleep. Just up from Main Street; away from the hustle and bustle. Would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our family spent two nights at the Montague Rose, booking both the Pinner and Ballyhaunis rooms. The Montague Rose is located a couple blocks from the main drag where the majority of restaurants and shops are located (2 minute walk). The rooms were clean, quiet, large and very well-decorated. Ensuite bathrooms included all of the luxury and amenities of a five-star hotel. Joe and his wife are incredibly warm and welcoming, and gave us good suggestions of what to see and where to eat. As for breakfast, I cannot even begin to express how fantastic it was. Joe and his wife are supremely talented; you won't be disappointed. They were also very accommodating with the number of food allergies and dietary restrictions within our party. Would highly recommend and visit again!

Room Tip: If you don't want to share, the Ballyhaunis and the Pinner rooms include their own luxury ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voyage0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We selected the Montague Rose because of its location, in the middle of St Andrews, a couple blocks back from the main waterfront street, and were very pleased with the choice. Good dining and attractions are near - we especially enjoyed Kingsbrae Gardens and Minister's Island, both close (walking and driving) to the B&B. Joe and Rose-Anne were friendly and informative hosts. Their breakfasts (we stayed two nights) were excellent and they readily adjusted the offerings for tastes. We were thrilled to get the recipes for Rose-Anne's tasty muffins. Our room, Pinner, and our bed were large and very comfortable, and though the room lacked air conditioning the fan and windows kept the room at a good temperature. Overall, a great value, and we plan to return to St Andrews (there is so much to do in the area) and the Montague Rose.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twin1NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in the Jardin Marie Room, it was clean, quiet, and much larger than expected based on previous reviews I read. Breakfast was superb, location was ideal (right in the heart of town near the harbour), staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. We usually don't stay in B&Bs because sometimes you feel like you are imposing on someone else's house but at no time did we feel that way at the Montague Rose.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDCB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Joe made us feel welcome from the first. A lovely room with luxurious sheets was just the start. The breakfast catered to our vegetarian and gluten free dietary needs and was delicious. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneyGirlOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
1.6 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Treadwell Inn
Treadwell Inn
#3 of 13 in Saint Andrews
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on Frederick
Inn on Frederick
#4 of 13 in Saint Andrews
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor House of Saint Andrews
Windsor House of Saint Andrews
#3 of 8 in Saint Andrews
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague Rose B&B

Address: 258 Montague St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1J4, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Price Range: $177 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Montague Rose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague Rose B&B Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing