We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful anniversary trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Montague Rose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Montague Rose B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Saint Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Willimantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This property was tastefully decorated, spotless, and very comfortable. My husband, our pet dachshund, and I had a wonderful 2 night stay. Breakfast was oustanding both mornings. The innkeepers were helpful without being intrusive as some B & B innkeepers can be. The location is fantastic - a very quick walk to the water, restaurants and shops.

St. Andrews is a charming village with plenty to do/see. We especially liked our meals at the Gables and Haborside Restaurants. The views were just breathtaking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uconn_cappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
156
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penticton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We recommend the Montague Rose wholeheartedly! The house is beautiful, the rooms large and very well appointed, the breakfasts fantastic and the location is in a quiet residential area, yet within a few blocks of everything. To top things off, the host/owners Joe and Rose-Anne are just great folks. They are ever helpful, informative and eager to please. We really enjoyed their down to earth, friendly nature. If we make it back to St.Andrews we will definitely stay here again. Thanks, we loved our stay! ...Jim and Linda, Penticton, BC

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youngatheart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We recently stayed at the Montague Rose for three nights and just had the most amazing stay there. We were greeted by Jim and Rose and were upgraded to the best room while still paying the cheaper price.
The rooms were furnished with a tv and dvd player and Jim has many movies to choose from. He took into account my food allergies and made the best breakfasts that we have ever had. Jim makes probably the best eggs benedict that I have ever tasted.
Every day they were so lovely to us and gave us some great tips about what to do in the area. I would recommend anyone who is looking to get a little spoiled on their vacation to stay at The Montague Rose. I would go again and again if I could.
Thanks Jim and Rose for everything! You truly made our vacation a memorable one.
Tamar and Brad

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBSoltys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Historic house well situated in the town, comfortable room, interesting and hospitable hosts, generous breakfasts with lots of fruit.

Altogether a good place to stay when visiting St. Andrews-by-the-Sea

Room Tip: If you have a choice, examine the bathrooms in each room. They're all good but different equipm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I wholeheartedly recommend the Montague Rose to anyone with St. Andrews by the Sea on their itinerary. Located just a few short blocks from Water Street it provided easy access to all the sights yet peace and quiet when sought.

Our very large room included a king sized bed, a leather sofa and the ensuite was well appointed and modern.

Breakfasts were a highlight. Hats off to Joe for a job well done and to Rose Ann for making us feel so comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were priveleged to have the opportunity to stay at this wonderful B&B. The home is comfortable and roomy and the rooms are well appointed. The location is perfect. Close for an easy walk to Water Street where all the restaurants are yet far enough to be away from the noise.

The sitting room was a great place to sit and read a book or chat and the back deck was also a nice spot for a sit down.

Joe is a great cook and the breakfasts were a full 10 on the 10 point scale. Rose Ann was the perfect hostess.

Joe I would recommend getting a booster for the internet as the wi-fi signal is weak and diifficult to access. This was only a small inconvenience.

Thanks for making us feel so welcomed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Montague Rose gave us a very warm welcome. Joe is a wonderfully informative and helpful host who serves a great breakfast! Location was perfect for going back and forth to town but on a side street. The room was spacious and comfortable with a great whirlpool tub to help us relax after a day or touring around. We recommend this to anyone who is visiting St. Andrews.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Andrews hotels
3.4 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Inn on Frederick
Inn on Frederick
#3 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingsbrae Arms
Kingsbrae Arms
#8 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague Rose B&B

Property: The Montague Rose B&B
Address: 258 Montague St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1J4, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Montague Rose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague Rose B&B Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing