We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for the amenities offered”

Huntsman Fundy Discovery Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.68*
and up
St. Andrews by the Sea Day Tour from Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Huntsman Marine Science Centre (Huntsman) is a registered, private, not-for-profit research and science-based teaching institution located in St. Andrews, New Brunswick. The hands-on school programs have engaged over 45,000 students - ranging from elementary school age to university graduate level. he Huntsman has also welcomed over 700,000 members of the general public through the operation of its aquarium facility, the new Fundy Discovery Aquarium opened on September 1, 2011. The education programs of the Huntsman have been pioneering; knowledge-based activities that have influenced the development of highly qualified personnel in the marine sciences and the oceans industry sector of the Canadian economy. The Huntsman Fundy Discovery Aquarium is open from 10 am to 5 pm, every day from mid-May to mid-October. Daily activities include Behind the Scenes tours and feeding presentations for salmon, seahorses and seals.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the amenities offered”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The marine centre was interesting but there wasn't really much to it once we got inside. for the $14 entry fee, I was expecting to see a lot more than two seals, a touch tank, a lobster and some fish. If the price was lower or there were more exhibits, the centre might be more worth the time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie_13422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene C, Manager at Huntsman Fundy Discovery Aquarium, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
The Huntsman Fundy Discovery Aquarium is a private not-for-profit education facility. It is through our daily admissions and donations that we are able to continue to develop our programs, exhibits and displays. We are in the development stages of 2 additional indoor exhibits - so be sure to come back again. A comparative study was researched for our rates - with admission prices covering an all day admission. Adult - $12.39 / Senior - $10.18 / Children 4yrs -17yrs - $8.63 / Children under 4yrs - FREE (Please add 13% HST).

Gallery I of the aquarium is intended to inform the public on the history, economy and ecology of the region. As you move into Gallery II, we pride ourselves on the enormous touch tank and the skate tank - in this gallery you are also able to view the amphibian display as well as the seals and the view from the observation deck is one of a kind. Educational movies are also shown periodically throughout the week in the 218 seat theatre. As you move to the second level, in Gallery III we have the large round tank, and the 3 large bays which have a variety of fishes from the Bay of Fundy, as well as lobster. The two harbour seals are always playful in the two underwater viewing windows (unless they are being fed at the Seal Show at 11am and 4pm). You can explore the specialty tanks down the center of Gallery III with rare lobster, skate eggs, Sea anemones and much more! Gallery IV includes a wet table, where you can see the live growth stages of lobster...the remainder has been dedicated to a children's learn and play area...we are also working on fundraising efforts for a new seahorse exhibit.

We do look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    87
    41
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and entertaining for the whole family”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were there for a visit just last week, and they were hosting a birthday party for one of the seals, so we lucked in on some birthday cake, and the seal feeding, wonderful place to send a day with Children. Later that week we were headed out Whale Watching with Island Quest Marine so it was an excellent chance for our children to learn about the animals we were going to encounter on our Whale Watch (which was AMAZING!)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene C, Manager at Huntsman Fundy Discovery Aquarium, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting - and what a great connection to make between what the Huntsman Fundy Discovery Aquarium has to offer educationally as you experienced a great whale watching trip. We celebrate Snorkel's birthday every year; so be sure to watch our EVENT page online, or our facebook page for that and other special activities at the Aquarium! We hope you come again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great family Museum”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is newly renovated with a dining area where our group feasted on lobster,also large marine tanks with guided tours, interesting for the whole family..

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MargoB174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene C, Manager at Huntsman Fundy Discovery Aquarium, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Fundy Discovery Aquarium - we are happy that you enjoyed your private event in our Gallery - it is certainly a very unique and beautiful location for receptions and banquets...and what a better "ice-breaker" than the touch pool that centerpieces the room! We do hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating Look at Marine Life”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a great place for adults & kids too. The just-reopened brand spanking new aquarium is state of the art and houses examples of all of the marine life to be found in the Passamaquoddy & Fundy Bay areas. Live lobsters, harbor seals, and a huge 'petting tank' where you can touch many of the examples of marine life. But beware, the water is frigid!

The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable and will explain all of your questions to you. Take the kids, it is a great family outing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene C, Manager at Huntsman Fundy Discovery Aquarium, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you Mark for visiting the Huntsman Fundy Discovery Aquarium - we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The Huntsman is a private, not-for-profit research and education facility - the Fundy Discovery Aquarium is part of our public outreach to educate visitors on the history, economy and ecology of the beautiful Bay of Fundy. Come again as we continue to evolve the exhibits and displays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome touch tanks”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have visited the center on and off since I was a child and absolutely loved the new renovations. The touch tanks were spectacular - huge, lots of variety, and super cold water! The seal feeding was great, but it seemed like more space was needed for spectators - we watched it inside, which worked well as they pipe in the audio.

The seal feeding was great - lots of information and tricks.

My only complaint is that for 2 adults and a teenager it cost us ~$38 which seemed a large amount given the relatively small size of the exhibits.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bc_pumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene C, Manager at Huntsman Fundy Discovery Aquarium, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
As a private not-for-profit education facility, thank you for visiting the Huntsman Fundy Discovery Aquarium. It is through our daily admissions and donations that we are able to continue to develop our programs, exhibits and displays. We are in the development stages of 2 additional indoor exhibits - so be sure to come back next year. We did do a comparative study for our rates - Admission prices are for an all day admission. Adult - $12.39 / Senior - $10.18 / Children 4yrs -17yrs - $8.63 / Children under 4yrs - FREE (Please add 13% HST). We do look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntsman Fundy Discovery Aquarium also viewed

Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 

Been to Huntsman Fundy Discovery Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing