We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ross Memorial Museum

Ross Memorial Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lovely 1824 Georgian mansion holds not only a wonderful love story, but also a surprising collection of fine early New Brunswick furniture, paintings by Canadian and California artists and artefacts collected by the museum's benefactors, Henry and Juliette Ross on their world travels.Free admission, donations appreciated. The Ross Memorial Museum offers personal guided tours,self-guiding materials and an exhibit highlighting photographs, video and special artefacts.The museum is open June to Canadian Thanksgiving, Monday to Saturday 10am to 4:30pm and off season by chance or appointment.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed two days at St Andrews and really appreciate all attractions specially our visit at the Ross Memorial Museum. Canada has a great history well presented/known by its citizen.
Culture is everything.
A French guy living in Canada since 4 years.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 5NJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMuseum68, Manager at Ross Memorial Museum, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We are so excited and thrilled to have received Tripadvisor’s Certificate of Excellence 2014!

And it is thanks to all of you for taking the time to post such kind comments about your visits to the museum. It’s so great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us—and we hope to see you again soon. We try very hard to make sure our guests have a wonderful experience and your generous remarks encourage us to try even harder!

This season we have a brand new exhibit—
Grace Helen Mowat & Charlotte County Cottage Craft: A Life Well-Crafted

This summer, St Andrews will celebrate the one hundredth anniversary of Cottage Craft and its founder, Grace Helen Mowat. An enterprising and remarkable woman, “Nellie” Mowat recognised the skills and artistry of local women and started a cottage industry to weave tweeds and blankets, make knitted goods of all types, hooked mats and embroidered pieces as well. She called it her “factory of twenty square miles” and provided fishermen and farmers’ wives with much needed income and a way to express their creativity even through the Depression and the Second World War. This exhibit is a joint project of the Charlotte County Archives and the museum in partnership with the St. Andrews Arts Council.

We think you will really enjoy this exhibit! Margot and Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth Seeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This museum is a must on your visit. A very interesting story on the couple who lived there. The furnishings are beautiful and story of their lives and travels are worth seeing. They were a very rich couple without any children and traveled all over the world. Curator gave us a history of the couple and then we explored on our own. Well worth the time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dannechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
1 review
“The Ross Memorial Museum is worth a visit when you are in St. Andrews.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my recent visit. A lovely home and a very interesting family.
A beautiful story about two people who loved each other very much. And they were very generous to the people in their lives and to the town of St. Andrews.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank luv2tvlMiami_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very interesting. Loved the stories of the family. Our friends from the UK had the complete tour and stories and were really fascinated by the history of the couple that owned the house etc.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 162traveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“'Very interesting'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Came across this museum while walking around St Andrews. Free entrance, but donations welcome. Beautiful house bought by a couple at the turn of the last century to house all their antiques they had collected on their travels. Beautiful furniture and antiques. Very informative talk given on arrival and spent a couple of hours here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank susieb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ross Memorial Museum also viewed

Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 

Been to Ross Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing