We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kingswood B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kingswood B&B
Ranked #7 of 13 Saint Andrews B&B and Inns
Searsmont, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed one night for our 36th anniversary. Gary made us very welcome explaining that his wife was away. Offered suggestions for dinner in town. We chose the Niger Reef Teahouse which was just OK(my wife is a vegetarian). Our room at the Kingswood was very nice, clean and well-appointed. Breakfast was fairly basic. The baked eggs could have used another minute or two in the oven. Maybe Gary's wife is the main cook, or maybe he was just rushed being alone. Would probably go back again.

Room Tip: We liked the Kensington room. It's on the road side, but not much traffic after 10 PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieLeRoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    17
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
34
115
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The rooms in this B&B are lovely. Simple yet elegant.
Gary is a gracious host and provides excellent service.
The inn is not on the waterfront and it some ways it was nice to be a little distant from the tourist traffic.

Room Tip: Use the photos on website to select rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed only one night but it was refreshing. St. Andrews is a lovely little town with neat shops, great food, water views. Gary is a wonderful host, had us relaxed instantly! Our breakfast mates were delightful, between Gary's cooking and the conversation at the breakfast table, it was a delight. Definately will go back on our next trip to Nova Scotia. Well worth it!! Marcia

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marciag01824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Kingswood in the Kensington room for 3 nights. The accomodations were exceptional and service impecable. We received clean towels every day and had the bed re-made very professionaly (my wife made it first but Gary re-made it even better). The breakfasts were great although we sensed that perhaps Gary's wife handled that part of the business. The food was plentiful and very delicious and lots of coffee. Thanks Gary for the dinner reservations at Niger Reef Tea House, you didn't steer us wrong. I would definitely recommend the Kingswood when visiting beautiful St Andrew's by the Sea and a big thank you Gary for arranging our extra night at the Montague Rose.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Kingswood B&B in St. Andrews as our first stop on our roadtrip to Nova Scotia. We stayed 2 nights in the very beautiful Kensington Room. The Kingswood's location was great as it was just a short drive to town and attractions. We were very impressed with Gary, the owner. He was working alone as his wife was unable to join him this season. He made awesome breakfasts and they were quite plentiful! He also gave great reccommendations for dinner. He was fun to talk with. He truly made our stay enjoyable. We would definately reccommend the Kingswood and look forward to returning someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kingswood B&B in late June 2013 and were very pleased with the accommodations in every regard. St. Andrews is a lovely small town worth spending a few days experiencing, and the Kingswood provides easy access to the town while occupying its own pleasant space just outside the town proper. The combination of relatively moderate rates with a very lovely interior ambience both in the common (dining) spaces and in the spacious individual rooms proper make this a real find and bargain. The host is also special both as an engaging interlocutor, a very helpful advisor as to places to see and at which to eat (an excellent recommendation for a special dinner), and, perhaps most of all, a very considerate person eager to help his guests beyond simply what was required. In our case, his initial e-mails help to clarify confusions we had caused, his supplying of extras for our continuing travels, and, his immediate insistence on remaking a second breakfast (which was excellent) when he belatedly learned of our special dietary requirements we had initially failed to mention. Overall, a real pleasure -- perfectly mediating the distance between wecome attention and one's desire for private space. Highly recommended,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very good accommodation, although more expensive than similar in the area. Very warm welcome. The only negative comment we have is that the breakfast was meager, very small cereal bowls for example! Other than that a good place to stay when visiting St Andrews.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmess41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Andrews hotels
2.3 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Montague Rose B&B
The Montague Rose B&B
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Andrews Motor Inn
St. Andrews Motor Inn
#5 of 7 in Saint Andrews
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Treadwell Inn
Treadwell Inn
#9 of 13 in Saint Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingswood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingswood B&B

Property: The Kingswood B&B
Address: 327 Mowat Dr, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 2P1, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingswood B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in the picturesque setting of two acres of garden and woodland The Kingswood Bed and Breakfast is an historic house built in 1861 and was the home of New Brunswick's Surveyor General, Hon. Benjamin Stevenson. Located in the historic town of St Andrews, The Kingswood is ideally placed for exploring the local area. Guests are welcome to wander around the gardens and woodland, enjoy a glass of wine or cup of coffee on our deck whilst watching the ever abundant wildlife or just relax in our inviting guest lounge. Whether you are looking for a relaxing break or an activity filled stay a warm welcome awaits you at The Kingswood, St Andrews! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kingswood B&B Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing