We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect an East Coast welcome...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed at the Seaside Beach Resort for 3 nights in August 2010.

We rented 2 cabins, and they were charming, very clean and well equipped. The location is ideal, walking distance to the bars, shopping and great restaurants. The property is kept immaculate, the gardens are just so wonderful and there are all kids of colorful Muskoka chairs to take in the breathtaking view of the harbor.

Now for the bad review...the owners are the worst I have ever encountered. Upon check in (late afternoon) after a long day of travel and driving about a 1 1/2 from the airport, we were excited to arrive. The owner (the wife) did not say hi or welcome or how was your day....just a terse "yes"....I was shocked because if you have travelled to Eastern Canada you know that they are the friendliest people you will ever meet....she showed us to our cabins and when she realized we had teenagers, the look on her face was appalling. I assured her that they would be quiet and respectful...she just walked away without a word. When we realized we needed extra pillows I hesitated to ask....to avoid these people would be the best solution. But, I did ask and she did get them for me but I certainly felt like I was being a burden.

The Seaside is lovely and I look forward to visiting again...but don't expect an East Coast welcome, because you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walkdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

I called to make a reservation for a cottage but when we got there we were put in the apartment behind the main foyer, under where the owners / management live. The woman who checked us in was 'uppity' (my husband's word). The apartment was quite obviously not what I asked for but she felt it would be better for us since there was 5 adults . I felt right away that it smelled like an old cabin, very musty. It was very clean, but the beds were doubles and we are not used to that. The noise of the feet upstairs was quite a surprise, I woke up somewhere between 2 and 3 and could still hear someone walking around! Not good if you happen to be a light sleeper. For the price, I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed one night at this hotel and found it to be very old. We were in one of the cottages which had a wonderful view; however, you could clearly hear the women in the next unit. In the morning my husband showered and then I did. Mine was a cold shower as we were running out of hot water. Upon checking out I mentioned this to the "gentleman" at the front desk and he said we must have showered too long. His attitude was terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank GrimsbyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My husband and I just returned from St. Andrews, New Brunswick. We spent 2 nights at Seaside Beach Resort. Both of us were totally happy with our accomodation. It even excelled our expectations. We had a 2 bedroom unit that overlooked the sea. The view was beautiful. Our unit was very cozy and so clean. It had a fully equipped kitchen and a very large bathroom. Lots of windows throughout the unit also, which all opened to let the fresh sea breeze flow through the apartment. The owner,,,David was very helpful and welcoming. As far as we are concerned this is the best accomodation in St Andrews...not only for the view and being directly on the water, but also for the convenience of being in St Andrews. You can walk to all the restaurants. There is also coin laundry available if needed. Thanks David for your help and making our stay so pleasurable. Hope to be back in the future. Marg & Ron Sturgis, Sombra, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargSturgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed at the Sandpiper cottage (1 bedroom) which was perfect for us. It was very clean and so cozy. The location is excellent as it's quiet but just a short walk to shopping, restaurants, etc. Sunsets here are amazing!! Owners were friendly. I would definitely recommend this comfy cottage for a stay in St. Andrew's By The Sea!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruiser2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

After a whirlwind tour of the Maritimes we booked this lovely retreat to relax for 3 days. It was a beautiful spot with a beautiful view off our deck. Our daughter spent a lot of time searching for the perfect seashells when the tide was out. Terrific location for walking into town for dinner or shopping. We actually bought a couple of lobsters and enjoyed a homecooked feast on our deck!
I would recommend this spot to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

My sister and I found this gem on the internet and because we love the water, we decided to book a room here for 3 nights. We booked a 2 bedroom unit right on the waters edge. We loved the quaint rooms that were pictured on the internet when we booked it, so we were surprised to find out that they had just finished updating the unit but had not changed the pictures on the internet yet. The updated unit was really nice - still quaint - but very comfortable. We had breakfast out on the deck each morning and we walked most of the places we needed to go in downtown Saint Andrews. It was a really nice place and I would recommend it to anyone. Excellent value.
One other thing that impressed us, we left our "gas money" in the room when we checked out, but with a quick phone call to the owner later that afternoon, he went into the room, found the money and we were able to return the next afternoon and all of the money was returned to us.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhaleWatchingLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Andrews
3.8 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
291 reviews
12 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Andrews Motor Inn
St. Andrews Motor Inn
#5 of 7 in Saint Andrews
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treadwell Inn
Treadwell Inn
#3 of 13 in Saint Andrews
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Beach Resort

Address: 339 Water St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 2R2, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Price Range: $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Seaside Beach Hotel Saint Andrews
Seaside Beach Resort Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing