We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Vacation!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I just returned from a fabulous week in Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada at the Seaside Beach Resort and am giving both the hotel and the area rave reviews! I had once previously visited Atlantic Canada, and wanted to get back... Although I live in New England, and have vacationed frequently in the Adirondacks, the White Mountains, Cape Cod, Nantucket, the coast of Maine, etc, there was something very special calling me back to the Maritimes. I decided to head for Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, as it is the gateway to the Bay of Fundy and its extraordinary tides. I wanted to stay on the water, and also have access to the town, and the area. After some internet research, I found the Seaside Beach Resort, and it proved to be everything I hoped and it promised! The rooms were lovely, with great bay windows looking out on remarkable views of those great tides and the coastline, even with its own lighthouse in sight! The place was immaculate, comfortable, and affordable. Although I was not with a large group, I noticed the presence of wedding parties and family reunions. The place is perfect for that as it offers both privacy and the opportunity for shared experiences on the lawns and decks. While only a few blocks from a lovely resort town with shops and good restaurants (not fancy or expensive, but good food), it is on the water, and feels quite secluded. One could sit all day quietly watching those amazing tides go in and out, the boats and sea gulls going by, and at low tide wonderful walks on the bay floor. It is also well located to be the base for amazing day trips - to nearby Minister's Island, to Campobello Island (summer home to FDR), whale watches and more. In addition to owning the resort, David Sullivan is a free lance writer who has authored and edited some great books about Saint Andrews, so an extra treat was chatting with him a bit about the local history. Great place; great vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyCamper02467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 150 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

After three days on the road, and following a car breakdown that messed up our schedule and reservations, we limped into St. Andrews on an August evening without a reservation. We drove around, and stopped the car in front of what looked like the perfect old-fashioned seaside cottage colony: The Seaside Beach Resort, which was a collection of shingled cottages surrounded by flowers, with a big lawn to play on and wide deck overlooking the beach . . . It was sunset. "No way we can afford that place! And I'm sure they don't have room!" we said. But my husband went into the office to ask . . . and they did have room, and it was totally affordable. Our cottage was very simple and plain, but spic-and-span, cozy, and absolutely comfortable. We walked with the kids on the beach at low tide, collected shells, and felt totally happy and at home. Fantastic charm for the price of a cheesy motel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaRipCurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed in the 'Sandpiper' cabin and couldn't have been more pleased. It was tiny but charming, and had everything two people could need.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHTravelers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a great place to stay. The cottages are nicely designed and furnished with high quality linens and kitchen supplies. It is close to the main part of town, so there's good access to shops and restaurants, even without a car. The view from the waterfront cottages is wonderful. It's a restful retreat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the water just in case the weather is bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lucia064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

If you want luxury, go to the Rossmount. If you want a welcoming, meticulously maintained, comfortable, and relaxing room at a very reasonable price, this is an ideal place. We stayed in Harbourview 2, a 2-bedroom unit that faces the water and has a deck where we sat and enjoyed a meal and glass of wine, while watching the tide come in and go out. The room has wood paneling and first-class hardwood floors. The kitchenette is modest, but well stocked with dishes, silverware, and good quality cookware. (There is a grocery store about 1/2 mile away and a liquor store a little farther away.) The downtown area is walkable. For my money, I would rather stay here than the Rossmount -- it does the soul good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank originalbluefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in 2009 and decided to return to a familiar and comfortable setting rather than try something new. We couldn't have been more delighted with our accommodation and our hosts. The Sullivans keep their beautifully maintained resort in wonderful shape and are welcoming but never intrusive. Our cottage was spacious and immaculate, and we enjoyed meeting fellow guests. We felt totally at home. And what a location - so much to see from our front porch, and lots to enjoy within walking distance. We look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanTorontoOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed in Harbour View 1 , a one bedroom unit on the water but with a second bed on the loft. The unit was small but very clean and cozy with a nice wood panelling all over the unit. We had a partial view of the ocean as well as a deck with chairs. We got this unit at a high season rate of $ 125 / night which was extremely reasonable. Seaside is located on Water St which is the main location for restaurants, etc. The unit is not a/c but there was a fan in the living room/kitchen area and all the windows would open for fresh air. We did not find the unit to be too hot although the weather had been very hot ( 85 F ) for the 2 days we were there.
We have stayed in cottages all over the Maritimes but this is the best deal we have seen in recent years. The cottage type unit had cable TV and wireless connection. There was parking at the unit and essentially, we were very pleased with our experience with these accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ralphleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Andrews
3.8 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
289 reviews
12.0 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Andrews Motor Inn
St. Andrews Motor Inn
#5 of 7 in Saint Andrews
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Beach Resort

Address: 339 Water St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 2R2, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Price Range: $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Seaside Beach Hotel Saint Andrews
Seaside Beach Resort Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing