We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ECT2013 Motorcycle Trip”
Review of Picket Fence Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Picket Fence Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great find along the way of our 6000+Km bike trip from Whitby touring the the east coast. Simple, very clean and convenient. Short walk to downtown and the pier. Great value for your dollar.

Thanks again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Picket Fence Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 215 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed 5 nights from Sept 8th to the 13th,2013. This quaint little gem not only caught us off guard by its uniqueness, but also by the low prices. It does not say about housekeeping for the motel but let me assure you they have full housekeeping whether it be one night or a month, Picket fence is a must. My wife and I had the opportunity to chat with the owners from day one till the day we left and are very nice to talk too. The pictures of the Motels website are a bit lack but i have included pictures to let people know of how clean the owners Sue and her Husband Vern keep it on a daily basis. They have a fire-pit where as if you ask Sue, Vern is sure to light one for a romantic end to your night. Upon our departure we did not want to leave but had too, the owner gave us a hug which is very unheard of, that's what you call hospitality. We will definitely be attending our holidays here next year in 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexheather1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Picket Fence for one night while on vacation in the Maritimes. Like most reviewers I was dazzled by the low prices for clean well-kept accommodation. The location is also good, within walking distance of downtown. However, there is no breakfast available on-site, and the room was small and smelled musty. Although adequate for a one-night stay I do not think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This motel is located 15 mins walk from the center. Rooms are basic. No breakfast (but in-room coffee is supplied). Parking is easy: just in front of your room. It is not cheap but acceptable value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcogi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed one night in the Picket Fence. The owner was nice enough to hold the reservation for me even thought I had only email and could not put down a deposit. The place is extremely clean and our unit had a brand new bathroom including a makeup mirror. We had a comfy queen bed. We sat outside at a picnic table and had a glass of wine before dinner. You can easily walk to the town center in about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed for two nights - also my second visit here - so I'll stay with the theme and just second most of the comments below.

Ideally located just far enough from downtown to be peaceful and close enough to get anywhere in 10 minutes. Absolutely clean and set up with the traveller's comfort in mind.

Sue seems to personally greet every arrival, and is always nearby to handle any problems or recommend places to visit.

Easy parking right at your door, excellent TV and internet service, lots of nice touches in the rooms. And for all that, very reasonably priced for a popular resort. No food service, but near to everything, and in-room coffee is supplied.

Will visit St Andrews again some year, and no question this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed for one night in the Picket Fence after a whale watching trip on the recommendation of TripAdvisor and were certainly not disappointed. Clean and comfortable with free wifi. No breakfast room but with Tim Hortons around the corner serving the best coffee this was not a problem!!
The owner was very obliging making a call to a local taxi firm to take us to a restaurant for dinner (a very miserable one I must say but the only one in town!).
Would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Andrews
2.8 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
282 reviews
12.3 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
100 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chamcook Forest Lodge
Chamcook Forest Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chamcook
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Andrews Motor Inn
St. Andrews Motor Inn
#5 of 7 in Saint Andrews
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picket Fence Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picket Fence Motel

Address: 102 Reed Ave, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Price Range: $78 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Picket Fence Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Comfortable and affordable accommodations located close to everything St. Andrews-by-the-Sea has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Picket Fence Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picket Fence Hotel Saint Andrews
Picket Fence Motel Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing