We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Adorable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picket Fence Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Picket Fence Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Adorable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

These rooms are not big, but there are SO many nice little touches, like the hi-low mirror in the bathroom, grab bars in the tub, a jar of candy on the dresser, cloth (read: washable) lampshade, crown moulding, recyclable bins in the rooms, firm and comfortable mattress, name brand toiletries... I could keep going. When we arrived it was a damp night, so the room had been pre-heated for us. Nice touch by an owner who knows how to do it right. Not only were the rooms clean, but I swear the tub surround was actually shiny. The rooms didn't have the usual mass produced paintings on the walls. Ours had a framed woman's diploma from 1908. It just made it feel so much more personal. I highly recommend this place. It was one of the nicest on our entire trip, and we stayed in a lot of places. (One thing I have to admit in all honesty - I stayed here in June 2011, but life got crazy shortly after we returned and I didn't get around to reviewing this until now and I can't choose 2011 on the drop-down. But this has been sitting on my desk all that time and I HAD to write a review for just this one place, even though it's late. It was that important to me.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikenSue726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    44
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
92
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a find. This motel is neat and clean and very comfortable. The owner was helpful. The room rate was reasonable. The bed was comfortable. The room good size for the money. No pool or fitness center, but who needs them with all the wonderful walking that can be done. Everything about our stay was first rate. We'll book here if we ever get to return to this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Tim Horton's is just down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I would never stay in the chain hotels again! The owners were fantastic. We were told about the Picket Fence by the whale watching company. They were spot on. Clean rooms ok spotless rooms. The motel is just a short walk to the shopping and the warf. Timmies is just up the street for our morning coffee. If only there was a Picket Fence Motel every where you traveled.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ultragliderider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife picked the motel out of a book because we were looking for a cheaper place to stay for an unplanned stop. I was a little skeptical at first sight, but was more than pleasantly surprised. It is the old style one level with doors onto the parking area. The room was small, but comfortable. It was an easy 15 minute walk to downtown St. Andrews By-the-Sea and the restaurants therein. For a 'let's find a placed to stop' it turned out to be a 'if we come back here, I would stay here again'.
There is no breakfast served, but there is a Tim Hortons nearby. We actually walked downtown for breakfast because they had a farmers' market - so we got freshly prepared items rather than processed. All in all, a good find at a good price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredVA21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocabec, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The rooms are amazingly neat and clean, though a little small. Great rates, even during peak tourist season. Friendly staff. Quiet and comfortable.

Would recommend this motel to anyone traveling to St. Andrews.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
194 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This mid-50's motel is in good shape. The rooms are on the small size, but they are clean and the beds quite comfortable. Evenings were quiet. It is within walking distance of the village and its many restaurants. Pricing was reasonable even though we were still in season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLM1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Very clean. Friendly and helpful owner. The motel is very close to the downtown area. Owner went out of her way to get info on whale watching tour. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We planned to stay one night but when we saw the room we immediately booked a second night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jph62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Andrews
2.8 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chamcook Forest Lodge
Chamcook Forest Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chamcook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
12.3 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#3 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Andrews Motor Inn
St. Andrews Motor Inn
#5 of 7 in Saint Andrews
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picket Fence Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picket Fence Motel

Property: Picket Fence Motel
Address: 102 Reed Avenue, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Picket Fence Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Comfortable and affordable accommodations located close to everything St. Andrews-by-the-Sea has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Picket Fence Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picket Fence Hotel Saint Andrews
Picket Fence Motel Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing