We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable”
Review of Picket Fence Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Picket Fence Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was a one night stop and we appreciated the owner's helpfulness in holding the room for us with no deposit or credit card info and the advice she gave us about restaurants in the town. A good place to stopover.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fisheagle2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    47
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
55
99
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

It's located just outside the centre, walkable but most of the time we drove there. The office person was very hospitable. Room satisfactory with a/c, tub/shower, but no coffee maker. There was a computer at the office, free to use.
This is a good simple place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I had read the reviews prior to our trip and was planning on staying here. We were only in town for 1 night so we could go whale watching in the morning and have a nice dinner in town. With me was my husband and our 2 and 6 year old. My in laws and my brother in law had both stayed in saint Andrews earlier in the year although one was a school trip and my inlays with their rv. It was recommended by them that if we could stay in town to try and do so, so we checked in at the Saint Andrews motor in for 149 plus tax, when I got back to the van to start unloading I just couldn't justify the near 170 for the night. The hotel seemed very outdated and although had a pool we just didn't see the value so I walked back in and cancelled my room. We drove pack to the picket fence and got the last room for 110 plus tax. The hostess was super sweet. The rooms were large with 2 double beds on opposite sides and a mini fridge the bathroom was new with a stand up shower. There was enough room to still put my 2 year olds potty on the floor too. My 6 yea old ended up getting really sick during the night and throwing up, we did the best we could to clean up the small mess in the middle of the night. I informed the hostess first thing in the morning and she was more concerned about my daughter then her room or the small mess. Overall I wouldhighly recommend this motel. It's a quick walk to Tim hortons and a 2 minute drive to saint andrews downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeanandJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The staff is amazing. They go beyond the call of duty to accommodate your needs. They are probably the most friendliest I have ever seen. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was newly renovated. The rooms give you a feeling of being at a cottage. The hotel is walking distance from main street. For the price, this hotel is probably the best you will find in St. Andrews. I would recommend it to everyone and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed 1 night while travelling through the East Coast and had a great stay here. The owner was really friendly and helpful giving up directions and names of places to eat. The rooms were extremely clean and the bathroom looked fairly new and updated. Wish we could have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMK003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Picket Fence is comfortable, clean and cheap.
This is a really nice little place - not fancy, but if motel-style suits you, pretty darn nice. If you need perfect quiet or a lot of space you may be disappointed.

We had quiet neighbors, but because the walls are relatively thin we still heard them - luckily they were considerate. It was not tiny, but after the queen bed, a small desk a couple of chairs and a mini-fridge there was not a lot empty space (not a concern for us).
The bed was quite comfortable, there were plenty of towels and everything was fresh and well ventilated.
A very friendly check-in and a very reasonable rate made it even better.

Room Tip: Give them a call and tell them what your needs are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCEWP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnprior, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We just happen to land in Saint Andrew's on a Motorcycle trip from Ottawa to Cape Breton. The owner was wonderful! Very helpful and even had 'biker bags' filled with old clean towel to dry the bikes off in the morning and wash pails if we wanted to clean them up after the rain and travel miles. The rooms were very clean and nicely done. We specifically stopped there again on our way back and stayed 2 more nights. There is a beatiful lawn area with chairs and tables (and shade) to sit out and relax. Towels soft, beds comfy, and rooms clean. A home away from home. Small fridge in rooms was nice too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmerOMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Andrews
2.8 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
275 reviews
12.3 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Andrews Motor Inn
St. Andrews Motor Inn
#5 of 7 in Saint Andrews
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kingsbrae Arms
Kingsbrae Arms
#8 of 13 in Saint Andrews
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picket Fence Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picket Fence Motel

Property: Picket Fence Motel
Address: 102 Reed Ave, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Picket Fence Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Comfortable and affordable accommodations located close to everything St. Andrews-by-the-Sea has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Picket Fence Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picket Fence Hotel Saint Andrews
Picket Fence Motel Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing