We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!”
Review of Kingsbrae Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingsbrae Arms
Ranked #7 of 13 Saint Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stay in early September and had a lot of the same expereinces of other reviewers. Service was practically non existent; phones were never anwered before arrival when we needed directions and advice. There's not even a reception desk!
The place is essentially a small town B&B, but with grand pretentions. The sheets were good quality, but everything else in the room badly needed updating. It was cramped feeling, too. And, It's true, there's no pool anymore, and I don't know who gave them there supposed 5 stars. I can't find anyone who did. There appeared to be no management, except for the chef, a one-man show. The owners were absent as far as I could tell during a 2-night stay. Good food, yes, but that doesn't make up for the price of the room!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Arnold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarryR-C, Owner at Kingsbrae Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Trip Advisor has declined to remove this review, which is the fourth of its kind generated by the same people who stayed with us in August. Once again they are repeating the same complaints they posted earlier. Please note that “Arnold S. from Halifax” did not stay with us in September. We have ten rooms and can document that no one from Halifax booked with us during that time. Once again, we are saddened by the tactics of these people who wish to inflict harm on Kingsbrae Arms and that we were not able to deliver the experience reflected by the 5-star reviews that have gone before and most certainly will follow. Harry, David, Pierre, Brian, Jean-Francois, Delia, Fanny, Dalton, Joanna, Drew, Maggie, Pamela, Barbie, Mitch, Chelsea, Dave, Thurber & Winston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 139 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were very fortunate to have been able to experience the Kingsbrae arms treatment. As a newlywed couple only going on our honeymoon in December, my brothers, sister, sister-in-law, presented us with a night at Kingsbrae Arms as a gift for us to enjoy a little getaway weekend while impatiently waiting for our honeymoon. Well... it was a great weekend in deed, not only was the weather amazing, our stay and our experience was lovely. We can't thank the staff enough for the service we received and for making us comfortable as a young couple staying the night. Some of the names escape me, however your service is not forgotten. Harry was quite welcoming and very fun to converse with. He represents Kingsbrae arms quite positively!!! Pierre was exceptional during our dinner which was beyond words, our best meal yet!

Our room was quite large, cozy, warm, and very comfortable. We wish we could've stayed a few more nights just to spend more time in the room. Our balcony had the views of the garden which were gorgeous.

The property is just 5 minutes walk from the charming downtown and quaint neighbourhoods.

Overall, we definitely recommend anyone looking for a little getaway weekend, with an extra romance/celebration to experience Kingsbrae Arms.

Thank you again :)

Martine and Jeremie

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our recent stay at Kingsbrae Arms Ralais and Chateaux was truly a relaxing and memorable experience. The elegant old mansion, renovated into top-notch luxury suites and rooms, is located within comfortable walking distance of the scenic waterfront and downtown St. Andrews. The proprietors’ insistence on high standards and total perfection was reflected in every aspect of the establishment’s offerings. We were warmly welcomed by friendly, courteous staff and shown to our deluxe three-room suite overlooking immaculate and very beautiful grounds and gardens. Our accommodations, complete with two quick-light fireplaces, were tastefully decorated with lovely furnishings and collectible art pieces. In the early evening, before dinner, we enjoyed cocktails on the lawn from Kingsbrae’s full-service bar. Our multi-course dinner, accompanied by a fabulous Italian wine and graciously served in the formal dining room, was truly outstanding. We have to say that the warm reception, luxurious accommodations, gourmet food, friendly and efficient service, lovely grounds, and the overall ambience we experienced at Kingsbrae Arms were all no less than exceptional. We especially appreciated the unique personal care and attention extended us by the owners and staff during our stay. We are back home in the USA now, but hope to return and enjoy this jewel of a place in the near future.
Jess and Nancy Brown from Virginia

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a beautiful property and inn. The rooms can be quirky, with odd ceiling lines, ups and downs, and jammed with artwork and artifacts. But the whole comes off as delightful.

We stayed at the Kingsbrae en route from Bay of Fundy to Bar Harbor. It was a much needed respite at the tail end of 3 weeks of travel. We did almost nothing, and that is about what there is to do there! I may be being unfair, as we had been in similar countryside on much of our vacation. But it is pretty quiet. Best for golf and get aways.

We had very elaborate sit down breakfasts in the garden. We also joined them for dinner in the drawing room. It was a very pleasant setting and the food was skillful and delicious. It was, as was the entire stay, priced accordingly. IIRC dinner for our family of five was over $400, sans alcohol and with shared dessert.

One thing to be aware of, this hotel no longer has a pool. We were a bit surprised and disappointed by that. The pool caved in and is being replaced by a koi pond.

Lastly, the tipping is up to you. I've been at resorts where gratuities are set at 15 or even 18% of the bill. We barely saw anyone during the day (the inn felt empty) and we had to open up our own sofa bed (they may have forgotten), so I didn't think the service was particularly exceptional. The waitstaff for meals was excellent, however. We tipped as a generous percent of our restaurant activity, and added to that for housekeeping. I still am not sure if we tipped correctly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6ContinentsNCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Kingsbrae Arms was an amazing place to stay. The inn is in a beautiful, well appointed home that warmly welcomes you. The owners were charming. The staff was always attentive to our needs. My room was a sanctuary with a lovely garden view and the dining experience was superb with a fabulous gourmet dinner and mouth watering breakfast. Many of the ingredients were grown in their own gardens. On a scale of 1-10, it is 10+!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewanderingdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Upon our arrival we were offered a wonderful glass of wine and then ushered into our King Suite which was such a surprise because we thought we would have a twin suite. The room was so cozy and relaxing, beautifully decorated and offered everything one would need to begin a weeks vacation. The breakfasts were fabulous, my husband was spoiled by the amount of food. Dinner was quite elegant and we did not feel rushed at all. The staff were very accommodating, especially when my husband misplaced the rental car keys and we had to search the room! They were also very quick in providing tips and suggestions for sight seeing.
We relaxed in the yard watching the butterflies with the specialty cocktails one afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed our stroll thru the Garden next door.
This property is such a delightful alternative to big hotels with such personal service and atmosphere you just feel like you have stepped back in time to a more gentle and refined era.

Room Tip: there are some rooms that looked to offer balconies, so I would inquire about those as the grounds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebes59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Kingsbrae Arms offers unmatched cuisine, serene peace and quiet away from the rest of the world, and a level of service that you are unlikely to find elsewhere.

Dining has evolved since we first visited. Guests no longer gather at eight o'clock for an evening of table d'hôte service. Dinner is now a more conventional three-course affair, with choices from a menu, starting at a time of the guest's choosing. The entire service takes a bit less than two hours. Similarly, breakfast is now from a menu at the guest's convenience. But the food remains as stunning as ever, and the service has an old-world charm that matches the finest city clubs in London (several of which I've visited). The wine list is a terrific selection of bottles you won't find at any liquor store in New Brunswick, with an emphasis on French wines. (And you may bring your own, with a reasonable corkage fee.) One of the staff this year is well on his way to qualifying as a sommelier, and he was able to provide some expert advice.

Kingsbrae Arms isn't quite a hotel, and isn't quite a B&B. It's its own category of place, unequalled for hospitality and food in my experience. Abandon your preconceived notions and sink into the lap of luxury. We're looking forward to next year's visit already.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 154957N_m_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Andrews hotels
3.3 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Treadwell Inn
Treadwell Inn
#4 of 13 in Saint Andrews
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on Frederick
Inn on Frederick
#3 of 13 in Saint Andrews
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windsor House of Saint Andrews
Windsor House of Saint Andrews
#3 of 8 in Saint Andrews
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsbrae Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsbrae Arms

Address: 219 King St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1Y1, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Price Range: $227 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kingsbrae Arms 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsbrae Arms in St. Andrews, New Brunswick, a resort town kissed by the Bay of Fundy in the North Atlantic. Explore a maritime culture. Indulge in the local food scene. Learn the language. Canada! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingsbrae Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsbrae Arms Relais And Chateaux
Kingsbrae Arms Relais & Chateaux Hotel Saint Andrews
Kingsbrae Arms Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing