We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Words can't describe....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rossmount Inn Restaurant

Rossmount Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Words can't describe....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Rossmount is a delightful charming Inn! The food is unforgettable – so fresh and flavorful. My husband ordered the tuna steak - seared to perfection. Unlike anything we've ever had before - the way it was seasoned, a whole medley of flavors! I had the naked lobster – so rich and tender. The rooms are quaint and clean. The grounds are breathtaking – so green for all your eyes can see. Posh pool area – very relaxing place to enjoy a glass of wine before dinner.

We’ve traveled far and wide – and to think this is in our own backyard!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    22
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Without a doubt this is one of the finest restaurants I have experienced.
The food is absolutely suburb and the service matches the food quality.
The value of the experience is exceptional.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Food Fantastic, The Atmosphere Less So”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Like most other reviewers, we had a meal with exceptional food value. There can be no denying that they know to cook, especially the local seafood and fish (I recommend the haddock if you decide to eat here).

That being said, there's more to a dining experience than the food. Even the most delicious meal can be marred by the ambiance of the establishment. Although the setting of the restaurant is lovely, the noise level when we ate there was appalling. The table of four women (two couples?) were so loud and so rude that I could hardly hear my partner speak. They roared. They cackled. They guffawed. It was earsplitting and really disturbing, not only for us but for the other table of four quiet, polite diners in the smaller room where we were seated.

Did the waitress or the hostess do anything to correct the situation? NO. Like us, they suffered through the show as the loudest of the four shared all of the details of her boring life, i.e. my partner's a vet and we drive around the countryside in our big fat jeep. The only help from the waitress came after the four had left the restaurant, when she came over to our table and said "Well that's a little quieter now." Too little, too late!

I would love to eat the food from Rossmount again, but only if they assure me that they will handle disruptive diners appropriately.

Perhaps they'll consider starting a take-out service?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wander21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This exceptionally beautiful old Inn, situated at the foot of a mountain and facing the ocean is an excellent choice for a few days' getaway. The accommodations are very comfortable, the common areas tastefully decorated, the service top notch. But best of all is the exquisite cuisine, I savoured every bite! I only wish I lived closer to St. Andrew's, so I could be a regular guest.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked ahead for my birthday dinner based on the existing reviews. Very good service in a large open room with plenty of windows. The food was very good from the starters to dessert. Loved the yellow fin tuna which we understand is served only when fresh and locally caught. Desserts were exceptionally good. The room did get a bit louder as the night progressed but all in all a great evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rossmount Inn Restaurant also viewed

Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 

Been to Rossmount Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing