We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic old inn in the middle of the restaurant district”
Review of Kennedy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kennedy Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Saint Andrews B&B and Inns
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Historic old inn in the middle of the restaurant district”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Don't go here if you want a Holiday Inn stay. This is an historic inn that has rooms upstairs and a restaurant and bar down stairs. It is literally right in the middle of everything.
The bar downstairs had live music until 1 the night we stayed there and the staff and clientele were friendly and casual.
Yes, the place is really dated with the AC and the bathroom fixtures are ancient, but everything worked and it was clean. It made me feel like I was in a really well done road house or inn (imagine that) back in the early 1900s. Relaxing in a nostalgic way.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side are larger but have street noise (it is a small quiet town, though.) T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimR_Snellville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    17
    12
    11
See reviews for
17
43
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Decided to go to Saint Andrews on a whim, did not realize it was New Brunswick Day weekend until we got there. Most of the hotels were booked solid and on the recommendation of the very nice young woman at the visitors center we decided to see if The Kennedy had any availability.

When we walked in we were greated immediately by very friendly staff who made us feel like we were family. The room we were given, although we had hoped to stay the entire weekend was only available for Friday night. The front desk apologized and advised that if we were interested in staying Saturday as well to let him know and he would find us another room first thing in the morning. We thanked him and advised that we would see as we might not end up staying the next night. He advised it would be no trouble and to just let him know if we changed our minds.

The room was spacious and beautiful. The shared balcony at the front of the Inn was quaint and looked inviting. While everything is a bit dated, it added to the charm of the old building. It was very quiet in our room and it was lovely to just relax.

We had dinner down stairs and even though we were the only people in a section of the dinning area they made us feel very welcome, the food was excellent and our waiter offer a fantastic local beer choice that paired extremely well with our bacon wrapped scallops. The portions were generous and seasoned beautifully.

There isn't much more to say about this wonderful older gem. It was a true pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaCoffie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We went for breakfast. We didn't see a waitress for at least 15 minutes. Menus arrived but not coffee. Another 15 minutes, no coffee in our cups yet. We ordered. We placed 4 orders. 1 pancake with bacon. 1 piece of French toast with bacon. Eggs sausage home fries. Scrambled eggs and toast. Our order came about a half hour later. We did get coffee once. Everything was cold!! The pancake was soggy and half cooked. The French toast was cold and gummy. The eggs with sausage were cold. The bacon half cooked. I think most stuff was microwaved. We looked at other tables ( it was not crowded) and there was a lot of unbeaten food. The frozen nuked home fries were not big sellers.
The waitresses attitude seem to be "whatever"
Forget this place

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Blozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Andrews hotels

Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I had the misfortune of staying here when we decided to make a last minute trip to St. Andrews for the weekend. While I realize the Inn is old we in no way expected the awful nights sleep we had.. The room was in dire need of repair and had no way to increase the airflow as there was no AC and the window opened onto a shared balcony. The band in the pub played until midnight and made it very noisy and hard to sleep. The hotels website and all in room lit. advertized continental breakfast as included when we went down for breakfast there was no such thing. We were told they "didn't do that anymore, but we could have free toast if we didn't want to order anything off the overpriced menu?????" When checking out we brought all this to the attention of the manager, who said oh we are updating the literature and that the website hadn't been updated in 6 years. well it doesn't take that to update a site and the info in the room was laminated and looked brand new.
I will go out of my way to discourage people from staying here and consider it a black eye upon the town of St.Andrews. We only came down for the weekend and had to suffer one night in this dump. I pity the poor people visiting from out of the country who are stuck here for any length of time. I hope that they do not think all NB'ers or Canadians are so apt to take advantage of people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 1ChrisK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed july 3rd 2010 for bike fest. The place is dated but It is the place to be for action!
Had a good time with Vicki (staff) great girl!
Shiretown Pub is there to food was good but the Beer was Better!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We found our room to be adequate. For the price (89), I was relatively pleased. The commode valve did have a small leak which wet the bathroom floor and some carpet in the bedroom. At night, the downstairs was packed with loud partiers in the karaoke room. Lots of smokers just outside the front door. Yes, some smoke made it inside. That needs to be remedied. Breakfast was also adequate. The location is the Kennedy Inn's biggest assest. Just across the street from the pier and boat tours.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We booked the hotel from the Visitor Information Centre based on the hotels's location on the main street in St Andrew's.

Unfortunately, our night at the Kennedy Inn was less than perfect. Our room was on the second floor, over the bar area. The entertainment (noise) from the bar went on until midnight after which there was non-entertainment noise until ???? The problem seems to be that the sound insulation in the inn is low/non-existent. If the level of noise coming from the bar had originated from a guest room, hotel security would have required the guest to quieten down.

Inquiries to the front desk were met with a shrug of the shoulders and the comment that the level of noise is the same throughout the hotel. The next morning we raised the issue with the owner who eventually gave us a partial refund, though we have preferred a good night's sleep.

My recommendation for the Kennedy Inn's front desk is that they warn potential guests that the bar entertainment noise may well permeate through to their room until late hours providing challenges to those who want to get to sleep at a reasonable hour or who are light sleepers.

If we had been aware of the issue we would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank timetravellerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
1.6 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kingsbrae Arms
Kingsbrae Arms
#8 of 13 in Saint Andrews
131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Greenside Motel
Greenside Motel
#12 of 13 in Saint Andrews
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennedy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennedy Inn

Property: Kennedy Inn
Address: 218 Water St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennedy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennedy Inn is located right in the heart of beautiful St.Andrews-by-the-Sea within feet of The Bay of Fundy, whale watching tours, and fine shops. The rooms are spacious and wonderfully appointed with old world charm. The staff is one of a kind where customer satisfaction is a guarantee not just a promise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Kennedy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Inn Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing