We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate room with down-home trappings!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 13 Saint Andrews B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First rate room with down-home trappings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Staying at the Garden Gate this week. Impressed by the quality and cleanliness of the rooms!

Dave and Carol Bennett were flawless hosts. Breakfast is delicious, artistic and prompt. We stayed in the "seaside" room, which had, among other details and decorations, samples of sand from 25 of the world's beaches.

The Bed and Breakfast is also the family home, and it was interesting looking at the antiques and pictures of ancestors from long ago.

Great stay!

Room Tip: The sunshine room is sunny and supposedly the most popular room for a summer stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

On our arrival we were made very welcome by Dave and Carol, our room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and the standard of cleanliness throughout the house was impeccable, and the decoration of the rooms was very tasteful.

The breakfasts were delicious and catered for your personal tastes with choice of fruit juices, tea and coffee, and portion sizes were more than ample, also you could help yourself to refreshments at any time during your stay.

The location was perfect, close enough to town to be able to walk there and very quiet at nightime.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone considering staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We would highly recommend staying at the Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast in beautiful St. Andrews NB. Carol and Dave are very friendly, welcoming hosts. The house is beautifully decorated with antiques. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet.... lovely ensuite too. The breakfast was absolutely delicious! The Garden Gate is within walking distance of the main street and harbour. We really enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I've stayed at a lot of b & b's in the US, Canada and Britain. The best of them share a few things... and, of course, I'm including the Garden Gate here... those things are caring, concerned proprietors and excellently run establishments.
Our greeting was warm and hospitable, our room was attractive, comfortable and SPOTLESS! and the grounds and plantings were all well cared for.
Breakfast was delightful (I can't eat melon so an attractive substitute was prepared for me) and was generous and well prepared...blueberry pancakes with fresh blueberries, maple syrup, sausage, coffee, and fresh fruit, juice!
When I return to St Andrews, this will be my number one choice without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leaderoftheband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

A wonderful welcome and a beautiful home and gardens greeted us on our arrival at this quaint B&B in the residential area of St Andrews. Just a short walk to the main eating/shopping area in the town, which was perfect for a before and after dinner stroll.
Our bedroom (twin beds) was well presented and very well equipped. My only complaint is that one of the window blinds was broken and didn't close (which was explained to us by Dave, the owner, when we arrived), but it didn't really matter because the room was not overlooked by neighbours.
Breakfast was a delicious treat at a shared dining table with other guests. All very friendly and informal.
I'd love to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was my first experience at a Bed and Breakfast- and I would definitely do it again based on what was given at The Garden Gate. Carol and Dave are lovely, generous people, and the stay was very comfortable. The room was clean, with a great bed and beautiful bedding. The breakfasts in the morning were wonderful, plentiful and nutritious. I would highly recommend anyone staying here. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurelle Jade F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We just returned from a trip along the New Brunswick coast, and stayed in this gem of a place for two days on our way. We cannot recommend this B&B or this little town more. Though on the small side, our room was beautifully decorated, full of amenities, very comfortable and ultra clean. Carol and Dave were warm, welcoming and accommodating – we couldn’t have asked for nicer hosts. They gave us some good recommendations around the area for restaurants and then took the time to book a table for us. Their breakfasts were excellent. We left feeling like we had just visited relatives. We hope to be back. Overall, it was a wonderful experience. There are other more expensive hotels around this area, but from what we heard the quality of service we got at this B&B far exceeds any of those high priced resorts. Don’t miss it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TikCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Andrews hotels
3.6 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Montague Rose B&B
The Montague Rose B&B
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seahaven Bed & Breakfast
Seahaven Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 13 in Saint Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treadwell Inn
Treadwell Inn
#9 of 13 in Saint Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast
Address: 364 Montague St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1J8, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing