We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the coolest things I've done!!”

Quoddy Link Marine Inc.
Ranked #2 of 10 Tours in Saint Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your best opportunity to view whales and wildlife. With the 55 ft catamaran's stability and speed (2nd fastest next to the small zodiacs), we can cover more feeding areas of the whales which gives us a higher success rate and more time with the whales and wildlife. It is about "capability"! Welcome aboard!!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
1 review
“One of the coolest things I've done!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My trip on Quoddy Link was an amazing time. I was able to see 2 species of whales, 2 species of seals, porpoises and all sorts of interesting birds! The guides were knowledgable and enthusiastic and willing to answer any questions. The touch tank and piece of real whale baleen they brought around was really informative and fun! All in all a great experience, and the hot chocolate at the end of the tour was a great way to cap the tour! I'd recommend it to anyone:)

Helpful?
Thank ESF9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    22
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Informative Adventure”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was an informative tour. We do a quite a bit of whale watching and the young man on top deck was full of information. The day was extremely foggy, but the captain really navigated his way all over the Bay to find the least amount of fog for us. We saw seals hauling out, and had a good view of a particular minke whale for a long period of time. We saw passing fin whales and some birds. There is a lower deck for shelter, with lots of seats, but we had fun on the top deck braving the weather. The views are also better on top. The boat has a bathroom facility. Dress in layers-make sure they are warm. It was exremely windy and cold when we started out. By the time the trip ended we were only wearing a light jacket. I would also recommend sunglasses. Make sure your outer layer is a water resistant windbreaker, or a raincoat. We were served hot chocolate and a bite of salmon pate on a cracker at the end of the trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank belugasrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new brunswick
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Minke action at its best!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived in Saint Andrews on Saturday with a plan to take a Zodiak whale watching tour. As good luck would have it, the Zodiak was broke down and we ended up on the Quoddy Link for a three hour tour. The weather wasn't super but one Minke whale in particular was enjoying it and gave us a great show by breaching more than 20 times! Aside from the whales, we saw porpoises, seals and many birds.

During the thunder storm, we were able to stay relatively dry under cover while we watched other whale watchers in other boats with no protection. The crew was really good (two marine biologists on board) and they served hot chocolate and salmon pate on the way back. They also had a "touch tank" for the way in and shared information about the creatures within and gave us an opportunity to hold starfish, urchins and more!

Tip for those going out - dress in layers - it's colder out on the water than on land especially if you get wet - that said, they have blankets you can use to stay warm too! They really look after you - highly recommend and hope to go again someday!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sgorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very well done tour.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We took this tour because it seemed to be highly rated and was a catamaran. It would have been hard to choose on the spot since there are several tours that are all in the same area of the wharf and where the prices are similar.
The staff was friendly and helpful and seemed to be knowledgable about the marine life and where to find whales and eagles which we did see. The boat was comfortable and fast and we did not get sea sick which was a concern before we went out. You must have your expectations in perspective since this is not a Disney ride where everything is calculated. When you see whales, they may be a mile away and just a speck on the horizon and disappear by the time the boat gets there. We did see many whales not too far away from the boat and saw eagles and seals. It was fun to be out on the water and to see St. Andrews from the water.
We were impressed that when it was time to go home the crew asked the passengers if we wanted to go out for more time since the crew saw some whales in the distance. The crew did this even though it was the last trip of the day and more time on the water meant that they would get off work later.
Boat was not crowded plenty of open space up top to look out and they did provide some drinks (hot chocolate) and snacks. If you have your expectations under control, you will enjoy this trip. Professionally and nicely done by the company.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DMS17000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A whale of a time”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Completely surpassed all our expectations. Firstly this seems to be the best boat to go on. A great mix of comfort and speed. All the other boats left 30 mins before us, we caught them up, then we stayed longer than them all. We went on the evening, 5.30 trip. Staff were all great, knowledgable and helpful. Beautiful flat calm evening. Out there for 3 hours.

We saw lots of whales, many fin back and some Minkie. The Fin backs were having a feeding frenzy including lunging in pairs out of the water. These guys are huge. Some came very close to the boat. They were popping up everywhere around us, we felt really special seeing so many.

Lots of other wildlife, birds, porpoises, and seals along the way.

A trip of a lifetime, a tick on anyone's bucket list.

Helpful?
Thank been2seethat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quoddy Link Marine Inc. also viewed

 
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 

Been to Quoddy Link Marine Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing