We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good value!”
Review of The Old Bauernhaus

The Old Bauernhaus
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Kimberley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Erin, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, good value!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Mother's Day meal at the Old Bauernhaus - can't beaten the historical building and the superb menu. The "Feast" has a little bit of everything but ordering two "Feasts" will certainly feed three people - probably with leftovers to take home.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    62
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Still amazing !”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked this restaurant for Good Friday while in the area for the holiday weekend. We have been twice before, and were so looking forward to this reservation. We were not disappointed. Another great meal and great service. We look my daughter and her boyfriend and all shared the "feast". Couldn't finish it, but sure made an effort! Amazing food. You won't be disappointed ! Best food in Kimberley.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsbrilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hmmm German. ”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Went to the Bauernhaus for a friend getaway. Read the reviews and had to try them. There was a bunch of us with about six kids. We made reservations a few days before which seemed to be a good idea. We all ordered the requisite schnitzel and they were very nice. The mushroom sauce was excellent. The decor is nice and quaint with the tables and chairs giving the feel of old world charm. They brought out the kids meals quick and they seemed too satisfy. The meals do come out a little on the slow side but this is part of the experience. If you want to dine and dash probably not the best choice. Our only quibble is that the strudel was a trifle bland. The mousse was very nice. Next time we are in Kimberly we'll be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food! As good as in Germany and Austria!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Don't forget to reserve to have a table! Great food, great atmosphere and kids' friendly.
We were 9 and the food: venison and pork schnitzel as well as Sauerkraut or any other plate we ordered were excellent and really tasted like in Germany and Austria!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rioforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I went here for dinner with my husband while on vacation in Kimberley. The food was excellent and the service was great, too! The building is beautiful and it's well-worth it just to see the immaculately finished interior. The wood-work is beautiful, and while it's clear that the space is older, that's what makes it so charming and full of character. It's a heritage building, of course, so part of your experience is being inside this historic space.

The food was excellent. I'm gluten-intolerant, and they were able to accommodate without hesitation. This is a real kitchen with a real chef who was comfortable cooking for my allergy, and the server too was knowledgeable about what on the menu I could eat and what they could alter to make safe for me. I ended up having the Munich-style Schnitzel (which they refrained from battering for me to make gluten-safe), which came on a perfectly crisp potato pancake and was topped with poached pears and melted brie. There were yummy roasted vegetable on the side. It was outstanding!

We also had the Smoked Trout Salad (excellent!) and my husband had their house specialty: Schweine Haxen (you need to give them 24 hours notice for this item). It was massive!! He said it was EXCELLENT and an experience in itself.

Atmosphere and amazing food! I would highly recommend eating here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara_Pancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bauernhaus also viewed

Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Old Bauernhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing