We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Bauernhaus

The Old Bauernhaus
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Kimberley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family and I have been to the Bauernhaus numerous times over the years and have never been disappointed, this time was no exception.
Since we generally only are able to make it for a visit about once a year we often order the same dishes. The fondue for an appetizer is fantastic and great for 4 people to share. I had the veal weiner schnitzel for my main and swapped on the potatoes for spatzl and then added a white wine cream sauce as a side, amazing! The everything was cooked to perfection! The vegetables were seasoned perfectly and were delicious, the schnitzel melted in your mouth and the sauce was the perfect accompaniment.
I would highly recommend that anyone who visits Kimberley eats here. The restaurant is often closed Tues & Wed and reservations are often required. Also do not plan on having a 'quick' dinner here, the restaurant states in their menu that they are part of the slow food movement, expect to spend at least 2 hours if you are having 3 courses.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CooperMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    58
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Again we have had a wonderful evening. We started with the cheese fondue for an appi. Their mixture of cheeses was out of this world and fresh baked bread just topped it.
We normally order the schnitzel along with a sauces but this time I ordered the special, different from everyone else, and was so very happy I did. It was beef short ribs that were done to perfection, served with mashed potatoes and fresh vegetables.
A dessert of the birthday boys choice was free of charge which added to our enjoyment. We also found that the wine list is very well priced compared to other establishments.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank turtlekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
156 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Try The Feast for a great sampler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

You do need to be hungry for The Feast but the price is so reasonable it's ridiculous ($33 per person.) You start with appetizers and salads: a mixed salad, garlic prawns, baked brie with a berry compote, smoked meats and cheeses plate, spinach salad with berries and goat cheese. They use local ingredients and everything is very well prepared. They are associated with the Slow Food movement which is often my indicator of a quality restaurant.

OK time for the mains which are served family style: wienerschnitzel of course, plus Jagerschnetzeltes (chicken, wild mushrooms in a cream sauce), a platter of roasted veg and another platter of roast potatoes and spatzle. Fantastic.

Loved the ambiance of the place although that's bound to happen with a 350 year old building that was originally built in Germany and then brought over piece by piece and reassembled. Wood chairs and benches don't encourage you to spend hours eating although there are a few cushions to be had. Also an outside patio.

Service is a bit standoff-ish. When we asked what wine would work best with the feast she just suggested "choose something light". Hmmmmm. And I was really surprised when she brought us new clean plates for the mains, she asked us to keep our dirty cutlery. Um, no can do. But there were no glitches in serving the food, it was well paced and they checked in with us to see if all was alright.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent, excellent....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wow! The restaurant is very unique, the staff were great and the food was absolutly delicious! We will return for sure!,,,,,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pepe_Lapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charity Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The food here has always been good. This time, they ventured off-course to serve an African-based menu. Soup was excellent, dessert good, chicken not great. But the staff were wonderful, very accommodating. And the fare is far from their usual, which over the years, and through different owners, has been consistently very good. This is a re-assembled log building from Germany, 300 years old or so. Neat place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bauernhaus also viewed

Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Old Bauernhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing