We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch in a rainy afternoon”

Chef Bernard's Platzl Inn
Ranked #9 of 44 Restaurants in Kimberley
Price range: $0 - $21
Cuisines: Canadian, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chef Bernard,wife Julie and daughter nicole came to Kimberley in 1989. They stop to have a coffee and never left. Chef Bernard's inn & restaurant has become quite a legend in these parts. Serving up fantastic food, Chef Bernard's provide the best experience for travelers looking for great food, fresh to your table and some say the best coffee ever! Chef Bernard has experience as a master chef with Hilton Hotels and the king of Tonga in London, England. Using his abounding talent and personality to spice thing up, he has created an international menu that gives you the feeling of a free trip around the world. This chef's motto is "life's too short to eat fast food." In addition to writing his own cookbook, chef Bernard's is a 5-star Award winning restaurant. Chef Bernard's inn & Restaurant also offers three guest apartments with hot tub. Above the restaurant at affordable rates.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Late lunch in a rainy afternoon”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by after the train your at the main Platzl in Kimberley and stumbled upon this restaurant. The decor leaves a lot to be desired as it is very crowded with souvenir type items. We were told to find a table so it took some time for a waitress to assist us. The food is German so we got the schnitzel and bratwurst. They came with a red cabbage slaw and diced deep fried potatoes. The brat was on a bed of sauerkraut. They were both good. Our kids ordered the hot dogs and they came with fries. Each order included 2 European wieners, a nice bun and fries. It was a good experience to visit. The food was not exceptional, but it was good. My husband also got the Apple streusel with his meal which he said was also good, but he has had better.

Helpful?
1 Thank ABCanadaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    45
    34
    25
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“German food at a great price”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We walked down the mainstreet of Kimberley and chose this place because of the owner. He was at the entrance welcoming us and inviting us in. He let us know about the gluten free options as well. He was handing out dog biscuits to dogs as they passed by with their owners (there are tables available on the patio where guests can sit if they have their pets with them).

We sat on the patio and enjoyed the atmosphere of the main street and the restaurant.

We enjoyed the Schnitzel and sauer Kraut. The special for the day also came with a side of Apple Strudel. The servers were helpful and gave good recommendations. We tried the Mulled Wine and really enjoyed it as well.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AStriefler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not the best place”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Well, décor is a mess, from US route 66 signs, to parrots, to “tout va bien” French sign to, of course German, decors. Ambiance music from a 1982 cassette or so, with probably Ricchi e Poveri (Italian band of the ‘80s), suddenly went to Jingle Bells, and we are in August! Probably the same tape runs forever summer or Christmas time. Server was a bit slow, take a lot of time to bring the order (surprise other reviews says quick server time). Start with cheese fondue, not bad, then had “dinner for two”. This comes with an unpleasant surprise that schnitzel, which was good but not spectacular, was not served with spaetzle, waiter excuse they had too many orders and they had run out of it. Going to a German restaurant and getting excuse they had run out of spaetzle is like going to McDonalds and they excuse they run out of fries because of too may orders! The strudel was good, but apple slices cut into too big pieces and a bit too much cinnamon on it.
Then the worst surprise was that actually the price for “dinner for two” is per person, so it actually went out twice we expected.
Danke schoen, aber nie wieder!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HariSeldon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not world famous strudel”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We felt very welcome. The owner was at the door encouraging us to come in. Seated and the server was there immediately with the menu. And downhill from there. We placed our order which was called Tourist Special and iced tea. Tourist special was schnitzel with mushroom gravy, pan fried potatoes, beet slaw and " world famous strudel". Our order was delivered almost immediately so could not have been fresh cooked. Gravy from a can covering canned mushrooms. The beet slaw was good. World famous strudel was unevenly seasoned and the pastry soggy. We were never offered refills on our drinks. Add to that the fact that cigarette smoke continually drifted in to our patio table causing an asthmatic at our table to be very uncomfortable I don't think this is an experience we wish to repeat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lemer5404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefbernards, Owner at Chef Bernard's Platzl Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience here at Chef Bernard's. We are a high volume restaurant serving over 150 lunches per day. All of our meals are served fresh by order and we try to get our food out as quickly as possible to keep up with the demand. Our schnitzel only takes minutes to cook and we make our mushroom cream sauce in large quanity fresh every morning. We purchase up to 8 cases of mushrooms from Gordon Food Services out of Calgary per week. Last year we sold over 24kms of apple strudel which we bake fresh 4 or 5 times a day.
We wish you would of let us know that your experience here was not the best so we would of had the chance to correct it and have you leaving happy. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The meal was warm but served minutes after ordering which leads me to believe it was pre-cooked. It was mediocre at best and I would not call their apple strudel "world famous". I also highly suspect the gravy was from a tin. The service was reasonable but that didn't make up for the quality of the meal. I wouldn't eat there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2nns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefbernards, Owner at Chef Bernard's Platzl Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience here at Chef Bernard's. We are a high volume restaurant serving over 150 lunches per day. All of our meals are served fresh by order and we try to get our food out as quickly as possible to keep up with the demand. Our schnitzel only takes minutes to cook and we make our mushroom cream sauce in large quanity fresh every morning. We purchase up to 8 cases of mushrooms from Gordon Food Services out of Calgary per week. Last year we sold over 24kms of apple strudel which we bake fresh 4 or 5 times a day.
We wish you would of let us know that your experience here was not the best so we would of had the chance to correct it and have you leaving happy. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Bernard's Platzl Inn also viewed

Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Chef Bernard's Platzl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing