We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Chef Bernard's Platzl Inn
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Kimberley
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Chef Bernard,wife Julie and daughter nicole came to Kimberley in 1989. They stop to have a coffee and never left. Chef Bernard's inn & restaurant has become quite a legend in these parts. Serving up fantastic food, Chef Bernard's provide the best experience for travelers looking for great food, fresh to your table and some say the best coffee ever! Chef Bernard has experience as a master chef with Hilton Hotels and the king of Tonga in London, England. Using his abounding talent and personality to spice thing up, he has created an international menu that gives you the feeling of a free trip around the world. This chef's motto is "life's too short to eat fast food." In addition to writing his own cookbook, chef Bernard's is a 5-star Award winning restaurant. Chef Bernard's inn & Restaurant also offers three guest apartments with hot tub. Above the restaurant at affordable rates.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The food was amazing. My husband and I were just passing through town and stopped for lunch. The schnitzel was so good and the apple strudel finished with a bang. Thank you for the experience!

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    52
    34
    26
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Enjoyable”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Such a relaxing quiet dinner. Delicious food, served beautifully. The apple martini was oh so great. Thanks Bernard for making our visit to Kimberley special.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food! Great for families!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Brought my husband and 3kids ages 8-12 to this interesting restaurant. Chef Bernard came out himself and personally greeted us. The kids loved the eclectic decor and the cool train that whiz zed by overhead. They have a great kids menu that has the normal kids fare but also a jr. Steak and jr. Schnitzel option for our hungry kids to try. I had the Hunter Schnitzel and my husband had a Brie, pear and white wine schnitzel. All delicious! The spaetzle was fantastic and we will definitely go back again. Very nice German cuisine and kid friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elizahuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable lunch in a fun, eclectic setting”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our group of 6 friends found Chef Bernard's while looking for a lunch place in town after the weather shortened our ski day. The food was very tasty, the service was prompt and we had a nice chat with Chef Bernard himself when he came out of the kitchen to visit our table. The dining room contains an eclectic assortment of memorabilia and souvenirs so it was fun to explore and check things out after we ate. A good place to try if you are visiting Kimberley BC!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DI-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Bavarian surprise”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Traveling and skiing in B C we came across Kimberly and found it very interesting . Chef Bernard was friendly and very welcoming, and cooked us a marvellous diner. We would like to return soon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Bernard's Platzl Inn also viewed

Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Chef Bernard's Platzl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing