We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Snow and Minimal Lineups” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimberley Alpine Resort

Kimberley Alpine Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Kimberley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perfect Purcell powder, an abundance of sunny days and a laid back atmosphere come together to make Kimberley Alpine Resort the top pick for your next ski vacation! Whether you are going to learn to ski at 3 or 93, Kimberley Alpine Resort has a great instructor waiting to teach you. If you are already a seasoned ski veteran Kimberley features 80 runs on 1800 acres with ambitious terrain including the Black Forest glades where powder stashes last for weeks. With a huge variety of ski in/ski out accommodations, many condo style with kitchens and family fun activities including the skating rink, night skiing, events and apres activities for the kids or live music in the Stemwinder for the parents, Kimberley truly is the all-around winter playground you have been searching for.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Snow and Minimal Lineups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spent a week at the Kimberley Ski resort this past February. Sunday was fairly busy, but the lineups for the lifts were no more than 10 minutes. The weekdays were great as some of the runs we had all to ourselves. Our kids are 6 and 8 and this resort definitely caters to families. This is our forth family trip to Kimberley in four years and we will definitely return next year. The snow was also excellent!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RMHfamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    67
    12
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great terrain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just got back from our first trip to Kimberley -- it was great! We're used to Fernie and Kicking Horse and I wasn't expecting great things from this hill, but it exceeded expectations! We had a coupon that reduced the price for our first day, but even when we paid full price, it was cheaper than the others. We have a range of abilities in our family and everyone found something that was their style/range of ability, no matter which lift we chose. I did find the lifts pretty slow, though.

My husband did the Telus Learn to Ski package for $60 including a 2-hr lesson, rentals and Owl Lift pass -- what a great deal for a new skier!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank webgoddesscathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is such a great hill as a snowboarder. Wide open runs for a nice cruise around the mountain. Not a super busy hill so no long lines and lift tickets are way more reasonable then others. The snow was great too with some fresh powder. Even the groomed runs were not icy. Would definitely come back again and again. It's worth the drive!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug782013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“My favorite hill for snowboarding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Me and my friends have been coming to Kimberley Alpine Resort for over 5 years now and I love it! It's not too big, the lift ticket price is much lower than on other hills, and very often there's lots of fresh powder. I usually stay in one of the ski in/ ski out hotels and I spend the whole day on the hill. Night skiing is also fun, but only the main run is open, and it's usually pretty icy.
The restaurants at the bottom of the hill are good, and you can have a filling lunch.
The scenery from the top of the mountain is amazing, so bring a small camera!
Have fun on the hill, have a good dinner and maybe go to a local bar/club.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kotbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fresh tracks, no crowds, sunshine is what you find at Kimberley Alpine Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just love hitting the slopes with the sun on my face! You will find long cruisers like Rosa and Buckhorn off the main chair; more blue runs, fun glades and black diamonds over by the Easter Chair and Tamarack Chair. Look no further for fresh tracks and no line-ups! Great for families and groups; beginners or those that enjoy making those thighs burn! There is also night skiing on Canada`s lit night ski run! All this with unbelievable mountain views. Always a great, fun experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TKimberleyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimberley Alpine Resort also viewed

 
New Hazelton, Kitimat-Stikine District
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Kimberley Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing