We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see in Kimberly”

Nina's Hillside Garden
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Kimberley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $13
Description: Hidden gem in Kimberley. They only serve lunch from an already chosen soup and sandwich (not menu). Also has minature village and garden. Hard to find but REAL treat!
Restaurant details
Description: Hidden gem in Kimberley. They only serve lunch from an already chosen soup and sandwich (not menu). Also has minature village and garden. Hard to find but REAL treat!
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A must see in Kimberly”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very unique eclectic restaurant in Kimberly. On a sunny day there is no place better in Kimberly for lunch. They have a limited menu, basically a special every day with your choice of drinks and you must save room for Nina's cake for desert.
This hillside garden is really quite amazing and must be seen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanuckAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    11
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, B C, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Friendly staff and really pleasant atmosphere. Small cosy tables surrounded with plants. Food tastes home cooked. Very good. You can take your time eating and visiting. Would definitely return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing setting!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Initially, we stopped by to view the gardens. Paid our $2 and got a season pass. However, the setting was so inviting we ended up staying for tea and cake. I had the mocha cake, and my sister had the chocolate raspberry cake. Generous slices, and a light, delicious cake. Cakes are home-baked. What impressed us most was the fact that Nina herself kept running out to make sure everything was alright! On a sunny day, sitting in this hill top garden, you can imagine you are in Bali, or the South of France. Although we didn't eat lunch, from the number of guests at the restaurant, and the empty plates going back to the kitchen, it was obviously delicious. I understand you can only get soup and whatever sandwich is the sandwich of the day, but that certainly didn't seem to bother anyone. Give it a try, if only for afternoon tea in a peaceful garden oasis.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely garden for lunch or a snack”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Loved being able to sit outside with a view of the town. Great soups. Very friendly hosts. You can climb the stairs through the garden admiring the miniature Bavarian village or you can park at the top and walk in. I would suggest the stairs if you are able.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“There is a reason they have no poor reviews!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

As a local this is the place I bring my visitors when they come to Kimberley, amazing food, Roland is a very talented chef, incredible deserts and beautiful gardens, a must see for anyone coming to town!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nina's Hillside Garden also viewed

Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Nina's Hillside Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing