We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressive”
Review of Hotel Kimberley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kimberley
Ranked #8 of 8 Kimberley B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Unimpressive”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location was central and great, but we were disappointed with everything else. This place needs a renovation and upgrades. The 2 queen beds in our room both had broken frames and the fridge was damaged and taped back together. We weren't expecting much for the continental breakfast, and our suspicions were confirmed. Stale bread, a selection of dry cereal, homo milk only, and a container of 2-BITE BROWNIES! We will not return and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    19
    10
    26
See reviews for
17
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Room was dirty/dusty, bathroom wasn't clean when we arrived and there was never anyone around to ask to come and clean it, and smelled like pee...... a/c was so loud that you couldn't leave it on well sleeping asked for it to be fixed.... not sure if they looked at it because it was still the same as before LOUD. No one was ever at the front desk... they left a phone and number to call if we need to talk to them. When checking out still on one around, never go a receipt for our room . Will never stay there again and will not recommend to any of my family or friends, I would tell them drive on to the next town.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kimberley hotels

Bremen
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Very noisy at the cross section in town. Tiny window didn't allow any circulation. Window A/C very noisy. Window toward parking lot and the ventilation of the kitchen. Without ear plugs I would have completely despaired.
Room was clean but shabby. Shower head was defective, was replaced on request the next day.

East Indian restaurant served the worst Indian food I ever had.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_glaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary,Ab Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Room was clean but needed to be dusted. Carpet looked newly cleaned. TV, fridge, microwave and coffee maker supplied. Bathroom clean. OK for an overnight. Breakfast from 7:30 to 10 so no need to get up too early

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

It was a group trip and organizers booked this hotel.
Parking lot is small and it some visitors parked their cars somewhere else. There is Indian food restaurant; you will smell it before even you can see it. Checkin was a bit funny – we didn’t get our room keys and being escorted to our rooms. In room we found 2 beds, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and small bathroom. Old facet in bathroom will play music while you are washing your face.
Room was relatively clean with very bad sound insulation – we heard our neighbors and car on the street all night.
Hotel serves continental breakfast, coffee wasn’t good.

I would recommend to consider different property.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergAndTat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

On a hit and miss road trip to the Kootney's I came into Kimberly as it turned dark and was egar to find a place to stay. This was place in the centre of town as very reasonably priced.

The front desk clerk didn't give me the perkiness that I normally I get from other motels and charged me in full right away without negoiating the price. The clerk also ran the indian restruaunt/pizza palour attached to the hotel. He had talked about bringing the pizza i ordered to my room, but called me to pick it up from the desk when it was ready. On the plus side the pizza was very good.

When I went into my room it was hard to find the light switch right away and took a little hunting down to get it. Once I got the lights on the room met all my needs. Plenty of room, very soft queen bed, flat screen tv, bath tub.

There is nothing much else with the building. Older building that is a kind of sterile and easy to get lost in.

The location is very good close to liquor and grocery stores. Does the job and is a lot more affordable compared to the mountainside hotels and a lot of hte places in Cranbrook.

Does the job, but offers no surprises.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvilBert86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had an emergency and were unable to keep our reservation at the Econo Lodge in Kimberley BC. We let the motel know before dinner of the evening we reserved. They were totally not flexible and charged us for the night's stay even though we were unable to arrive. Beware of this situation in Kimberley. Some motels are much more understanding of emergency situations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam and Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimberley
1.0 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
370 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 4 in Kimberley
215 reviews
1.0 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kimberley
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
15.2 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 17 in Cranbrook
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kimberley
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kimberley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kimberley

Property: Hotel Kimberley
Address: 300 Wallinger Ave, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kimberley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the foothills of The Rockies, Hotel Kimberley is the ultimate choice for your mountainous holiday adventure any time of the year. We are situated right in the heart of Kimberley, giving you the best access to all Kimberley and it's surrounds has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kimberley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Econo Hotel Kimberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing