We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served the Prupose”
Review of Hotel Kimberley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kimberley
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kimberley
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked the hotel for a long weekend bike trip just as all my other review have been (bike trips).
The hotel was right downtown, which is exactly where we wanted to be+
Needed a room with two beds (so didnt have to share bed with husband and father in-law) and they had one available +
It was affordable (because we were going in the summer, and not Peak Ski season) +
The room was dated and dimly lit -
The "bathroom" (if it can be called that) was cramped and small -
The bed were hard and uncomfortable to sleep on(it was made of plyboard and a foam pad(I lifted the sheets to check))-
"Pillow"? What pillow?(there was no pillow on the bed it was a folded sheet/towel, at best(from someone who suffers from neck problems and finds it inpractical to carry my 20lbs water pillow with me everywhere i travel(let alone on the back of a bike) this "folded sheet/towel" did not suffice) -
As to when the sheets were last changed was Severly Questionable (My comforter had cigarette burns in it, a questionable puple stain, Oh and a blood stain on the sheets that looked like it had occured a few days prior) -
Bugs in the bathroom (my Father in-law assured me they were'nt bed bugs or spiders just probably muntant ants) -
The clenliness of the room was over all questionable, there were stains all over the floor and water stains on the ceiling, cigarette burns on the drapery and lets face it, the whole place was in need of some good repair and seriouse upgrading.
Oh and dont let me forget about the Continental Breakfast... I had 2 two bite brownies and a peice of old toast. There was also cerel, coffee and tea available; that is all. -
It did the job for a place to rest after a long ride, but most deffinatly I will be staying else where the next time I visit Kimberly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubajaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kimberley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 66 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

For the price we paid it was over priced. We finished up a road trip and after 12 hotels, this was the worst of the bunch. Mold and Mildew around the ac units. Dirty and tired rooms. the owners seemed to be mid argument when we arrived. Loud arguing and a grumpy front desk agent definitely made for a less than spectacular arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

An older motel but was clean and comfortable. Good price and the staff were helpful and pleasant. Couldn't get wifi in our room but why complain? Breakfast was good. Bed was comfortable and had a good sleep. Little noisy by the street.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank westerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just spent the weekend at this establishment. I had booked on line and the room does not look anything like the actual room. The room had not had a good cleaning in a long time. There was so much dust behind the TV one could write their name in it. The bathroom was old, run down and again, not the cleanist I have seen. The carpet was dirty and the air conditioner was so small that it did nothing to cool the room down. I do have to say the bed was comfortable and it was quite. The Inn was conveniently located and you pay for the location because the rooms should have been 1/3 of what we paid. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auto_3565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here and found it was like staying in a rowdy, rundown downtown hotel. There was a nice pub right beside it that was chock a block full of tree huggers, lumberjacks and miners. Great atmosphere at this pub.
Other than the questionable room we stayed in, it was just Ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our rug was dirty, and looks like dressers hadn't been dusted in awhile. Breakfast was very basic and the room was very cold. They had a space heater going in breakfast room, but it didn't help much. I was in and out of the hotel quite a bit during the day and there was never anybody at the front desk. They would leave a phone with a phone number in case you needed to call them. I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Ctthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I wanted to check into the hotel on a recent trip to Kimberley so that my wife and I could be close to the downtown restaurants, we usually stay on the ski hill which leads to taxi drives and more expenses. We didn't care for the first room that we saw and wanted to view another room. Well Rakesh Kaushal couldn't have been ruder, less helpful or more unprofessional in trying to accommodate us. The first room was dirty as if it hadn't been properly cleaned, his poor attitude drove us out the door and up the ski hill. This man should no be in the hospitality business as he has no idea what hospitality or service is. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimberley
1.0 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kimberley
385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 5 in Kimberley
29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 5 in Kimberley
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
15.2 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#2 of 18 in Cranbrook
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kimberley
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kimberley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kimberley

Address: 300 Wallinger Ave, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Kimberley Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kimberley
Price Range: $103 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kimberley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the foothills of The Rockies, Hotel Kimberley is the ultimate choice for your mountainous holiday adventure any time of the year. We are situated right in the heart of Kimberley, giving you the best access to all Kimberley and its surrounds have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Kimberley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Econo Hotel Kimberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing