We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a step back in time...”
Review of Hotel Kimberley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kimberley
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kimberley
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Definitely an old building as the other reviews say. And not in a charming way. Bathtubs, linens, furniture all from the 80's. We had to ask for more tp, even though we stayed two nights and it was low after the first day. Housekeeping was not the best. Free breakfast was ok, we were lucky to get the last cup of coffee... Only thing that was full was the garbages.
Would not stay here again. There are several rooms for rent in the platzyl above the pubs and restraints that I'm sure would have offered better accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itsme1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 66 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

A group of us stayed here overnight on the way up to Lake Columbia. Hotel was under renovation at the time but the room was fine. Standard hotel room and bathroom, all was clean. Had a room with two beds and a pullout couch, all were comfortable enough. Breakfast was decent enough. Overall nothing special, but a good enough place for an overnight stay if you get a good rate (which we did).

Nice little bar around the corner just a two minute walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

There was a large party of school children (sports team) staying and largely uncontrolled by the adults accompanying them. The manager did little to resolve the situation and even 'complained' that a teacher was drunk and doing nothing to help. When we asked to contact the owner, he suggested that he was the man (we were not convinced). The accommodation was average. Breakfast was less than average.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottiesInUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Pretty basic. Good location.
Has Internet and Continental Breakfast.
The tiles in the bathroom need a good scrub.
The air conditioner was very loud.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheriiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The room was great but I was travelling with 3 dogs (attending a dog show). There is NO grass in the area...everything is concrete as it is in the downtown area. When I reserved, I requested a ground floor room; when I got there it was on the second floor. The stairs were narrow and twisty and a LOT of up and down with all my stuff. I decided that I couldn't take dog kennels up the stairs and bought sheets to cover the floor in the room. I was allowed 2 dogs in the room only ($10 per dog per night with a maximum of 2 dogs), which meant the third dog was kennelled overnight in my vehicle. The parking lot is small and although they have made arrangements with neighbouring businesses for parking, these are not secured (especially worrisome with a dog in the vehicle). The room itself was great but the work to get all my stuff in and out and the worry of leaving a dog in the vehicle means that I won't stay there again (unless I have only 2 dogs AND actually GET a ground floor room). And then there is the issue of no grass or appropriate walking area nearby.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a ground floor room if travelling with dogs (but there is no grass nearby anyway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This place is in the middle of "downtown" Kimberley and close to shopping. That being said, Kimberley is pretty much a one street highway town and not very big. Econo Lodge is nicely renovated and provides a good place to relax after a day of outdoor activities. Continental breakfast is included and free wifi internet is available which is always a bonus! The owner/manager is a very friendly and caring person. The housekeeping staff is very friendly and understanding as well. Overall, a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road as the rooms facing the intersection tend to be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystelshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Maria Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony E, Manager at Hotel Kimberley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimberley
1 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 5 in Kimberley
31 reviews
1 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kimberley
400 reviews
1 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 5 in Kimberley
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
0.2 mi away
Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kimberley
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kimberley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kimberley

Address: 300 Wallinger Ave, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Kimberley Inn and Suites)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kimberley
Price Range: $106 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kimberley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the foothills of The Rockies, Hotel Kimberley is the ultimate choice for your mountainous holiday adventure any time of the year. We are situated right in the heart of Kimberley, giving you the best access to all Kimberley and its surrounds have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kimberley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Econo Hotel Kimberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing