We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT BED & BREAKFEST!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Kimberley B&B and Inns
Okotoks (AB)
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT BED & BREAKFEST!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

Alpenglow is a wonderful B&B: the house is beautiful and clean, breakfast is a delight and Kimberley is a nice little town. But the best thing about Alpenglow are the owners: Anja and Theo. They make you feel at home and are great hosts. We will definitely go back again.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jacoba62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
85
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

We spent 3 nights at House Alpenglow over the Labour Day weekend. Anja and Theo, the new owners of this charming Bed and Breakfast, ensured that we had a warm, comfortable stay. This B&B is meticulously clean and has a bright, warm, uncluttered feel.

We received a friendly welcome even though we arrived later than expected. We arrived to find three guests enjoying a glass of wine and some quiet conversation - it was a lovely way to end the long drive and start our holiday.

We had a very comfortable bedroom and bathroom. The breakfasts (which, I noticed, cater to a variety of dietary preferences & allergies ) are superb - I am hoping they produce a recipe book some day!!! We also enjoyed the hot tub (our hosts provided the towels and robes). We were pleased to find that the B&B has internet access.

The B&B is close to hiking trails (which begin just two houses away) and a great restaurant (across the street, make reservations in advance). Anja and Theo provided some great maps and advice about local trails; there is also an information centre in the town but we didn't need to use it. There are lots of animals and beautiful gardens in the area. There is also a ski hill which is near the B&B and quite popular in ski season.

I highly recommend House Alpenglow and will be happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

We recently spent two nights at House Alpenglow in Kimberley. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. Anja and Theo were charming hosts and the breakfasts were wonderful. The setting is beautiful - a short walk to the downtown area, restaurants and golf course.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Wa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

Each year we stay at House Alpinglow while fishing on the St. Mary's. Half the fun of the fishing trip is to see Darrell and Merna. Every year they have fun tales of their off season trips and adventures. Accommodations are first class. Rooms are clean, quite and comfortable. Breakfast every morning is always an adventure that starts with great coffee, good conversation, and is topped off by one of Merna's memorable spreads. Darell and Merna maintain a very relaxed, quite atmosphere in their B&B. You may arrive as strangers. But by the time you leave, Darrell and Merna feel like those cousins you wish you could visit versus the ones you have. This is the only B&B that my wife will go back too. It is the only one we have tried that meets her standards. High praise--she is hard to please.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dryflyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimberley
0.8 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 4 in Kimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
0.3 mi away
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.6 mi away
North Star Motel
North Star Motel
#3 of 4 in Kimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3 Alpenglow Crt, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 3E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and cosy B&B for singles, (gay) couples, families, children welcome. No pets, no smoking. Up to 15/16 people can stay in our house, so ideal for a family get away! Feel at home in European style house with spacious, comfortable, woodcrafted rooms. Our rooms either have en-suite, private or shared bathroom. Enjoy a delicious home cooked breakfast complimented with fresh fruit, we make our own breads, jams and everything we serve is made from scratch. Relax in the hot tub, sauna or our quiet green garden. Our house is situated in a very quiet neighbourhood. Kimberley is perfect for summer and winter holidays. In the summer there are many excellent golf courses nearby, hike and (mountain) bike trails, lakes for swimming and sun bathing, waterfalls, rafting, fly fishing, Fort Steele heritage town, the mine museum or just visit cosy, car free down town Kimberley with nice shops and restaurants. In the winter: we are close to the ski hill (only two minutes) and cross country skiing starts in our back yard! Or snow shoeing, snow mobiling, dog sledding, ice fishing. Down town Kimberley is only a 5 minutes (short cut) walk and we are across from the well known restaurant The Old Bauernhaus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing