We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to visit!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Kimberley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spend the first 2 nights and the last night of our vacation at the Alpenglow B&B and I have to tell everybody this is the place to go. We had an amazing time at the B&B with Anja and Theo who are amazing hosts. We loved the breakfast they served us, every thing was freshly baked and made by Anja, the rooms are nice and very clean, they have a nice garden and a hot tub. We went for supper at the amazing restaurant opposite of their B&B which is awesome, so you can just walk over there. This will definitely not be our last time we will visit them, because I know it will also be a great place to visit in the wintertime with the ski hill being so close to their house.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irma v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anjasol, Owner at Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

It was great having you as our guests, hope to see you again some day! Thanks for the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 197 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I, along with our 17 year old son, just returned from a week-long Kootenay Vacation during which we had the pleasure of spending two days and two nights at the lovely Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast in Kimberley. It is a charming and wonderfully crafted building with carefully attentive woodwork evident throughout. Our very pleasurable stay at this unique and well-situated B & B, located slightly above town on the way up to the ski hill, was made so much more memorable by the extremely helpful and very friendly and personable hosts, Anja and Theo from the Netherlands. (BTW: Thanks, Anja, for your helpful suggestion to take in the railroad mine tour. Well worth it!)

Overall, we had a Wonderful stay at this lovely Bed & Breakfast in what all of us found to be a very charming little town.

Room Tip: We booked the larger of the two bedrooms that make up the "Sullivan Suite" (I think that i...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StampedeCityMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpenannie, Owner at Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

It was our pleasure, we had a very enjoyable weekend as well, thanks to all our great guests! Thanks for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I gave the "swimming pool" a five even though it is a hot tub.

Theo and Anja are just the most gracious hosts. The European breakfast was everything you'd expect it to be.

Truly a great place to visit for an "ex-Kimberleyite" home for a grad reunion (and no, I'm not telling you how many years it's been since I graduated!).

Room Tip: We were given the Kootenay Room--top floor. But the other visitors were just as happy as we were.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpenannie, Owner at Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words, hope to see you back in the winter for some skiing with your grandson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We recently visited the Alpenglow B&B with good friends from the states and we were immediately trying to figure out how to get back! The accommodations and hospitality presented were top notch from the beginning to the end. Anja is a very special host and runs a terrific B&B. It was my first go with a B&B and I can tell you that I would certainly do it again. The breakfast was amazing, the rooms were clean and the B&B was relaxing. Thank you so much for being exactly what we needed! We will see you again Anja!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpenannie, Owner at Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Very kind words, thank you so much! It was a pleasure making your weekend unforgettable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I just got back from visiting Kimberley with our good friends. We booked two rooms on the first floor with private bathrooms in suite. What a fabulous time we had at the Alpenglow B&B! From the minute Anja greeted us at the door, we felt like we were staying at a friend's house instead of accommodations we found online. The rooms were clean, roomy and very private (this B&B was originally built for this purpose) and the perfect setup for what we were looking for. Anja's breakfasts were delicious and we had the BEST JAM EVER while here as she makes her own. There are so many details we were impressed with, but I will refrain from listing them all because I would be typing forever. This was our first B&B experience and we would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpenannie, Owner at Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Review #100 on Tripadvisor and what a beautiful one! So glad you've had a relaxing weekend together with your friends. Alpenglow and Kimberley are perfect locations to unwind, thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in Kimberley for two nights and were very pleased with our choice of Alpenglow. Anja and Theo immediately made us at home and provided for our every request, followed by a positive Ja Ja! Clean, comfortable and quiet rooms made our stay more than pleasant and the home cooked meals rounded out a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Phone direct as there are three types of rooms to choose from. Plan on staying more than one night.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpenannie, Owner at Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

ja ja great review ;-) Thank you so much, glad you've enjoyed our Dutch hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this B&B. It brought us back to our European travel days for our anniversary weekend. Very reasonably priced. Wonderful hosts. Hearty and healthy breakfasts. Perfect location - 5 min walk to town. 5 min walk to the hill. Highly recommend the Bavarian restaurant across the road as well.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LBender326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpenannie, Owner at Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words, hope to see you again some day in our B&B!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimberley
0.8 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kimberley
385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 5 in Kimberley
232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 5 in Kimberley
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
15.3 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#2 of 18 in Cranbrook
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kimberley
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3 Alpenglow Crt, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 3E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kimberley
Price Range: $95 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and cosy B&B for singles, (gay) couples, families, children welcome. No pets, no smoking. Up to 15/16 people can stay in our house, so ideal for a family get away! Feel at home in European style house with spacious, comfortable, woodcrafted rooms. Our rooms either have en-suite, private or shared bathroom. Enjoy a delicious home cooked breakfast complimented with fresh fruit, we make our own breads, jams and everything we serve is made from scratch. Relax in the hot tub, sauna or our quiet green garden. Our house is situated in a very quiet neighbourhood. Kimberley is perfect for summer and winter holidays. In the summer there are many excellent golf courses nearby, hike and (mountain) bike trails, lakes for swimming and sun bathing, waterfalls, rafting, fly fishing, Fort Steele heritage town, the mine museum or just visit cosy, car free down town Kimberley with nice shops and restaurants. In the winter: we are close to the ski hill (only two minutes) and cross country skiing starts in our back yard! Or snow shoeing, snow mobiling, dog sledding, ice fishing. Down town Kimberley is only a 5 minutes (short cut) walk and we are across from the well known restaurant The Old Bauernhaus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing