We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpenglow a real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Kimberley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in July 2011 having never stayed in a bed and breakfast before. We were pleasantly surprised to have so much privacy with our cozy rooms. Everything was clean, the breakfast we got was HUGE to say the least, waffles, yogurt, fruits, eggs, bacon and good company. It's also right across the street from a rustic Bavarian restaurant and only a few minutes away from the ski hill if you are planning a winter trip. I strongly recommend staying here if you are in the Kimberley area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 199 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

Last September we (6 persons) stayed in Alpenglow for 2 nights.
What a nice house! Spacious,clean rooms with perfect (large) beds.
We were very surprised about the superb breakfast (although we read the reviews).
Alpenglow is a perfect adress for people who are looking for a clean, comfortable Bed and Breakfast near the centre of Kimberley.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

In September, 2011 we stayed at the Alpenglow and can only say GREAT things. Owners
are super friendly and helpful. Room are very nice and we had a large room for 3 adults. Definitely no complaint on the breakfast, it was delicious and changed each day. Also, a real feeling of a Dutch B & B, I felt like I was in Europe. Excellent restaurant right across the street from the B&B. Do go and enjoy the area. Lots to do. Kathy Morrell in Orlando, FL

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy32819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Beautiful facility. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms were very clean. This facility receives my wholehearted endorsement.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were excellent. Basement suites were large, well lit, quiet and had adjoining bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had a wonderful time in the Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast. Our room was very nicely furnished with a private bathroom. Anja and Theo made us very welcome and provided a great breakfast. Their recommendation and reservation for dinner at the 'Old Bauernhaus' across the street from them was just excellent. We appreciate their care and concern us.
Bonita and George

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bonita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Alpenglow in late August 2011 and found this immaculate and peaceful B&B so welcoming. Anja, our hostess, readily answered all of our questions about the town and surrounding area, gave directions, provided a common room where one could relax and mingle with others, and prepared a beautiful breakfast for us at an early hour so that we could be on our way back to the States. An assortment of fresh fruit and homemade breads accompanied our eggs, sausage, and freshly brewed coffee as the three of us quietly chatted before departing this truly special place. We'll return for sure!!

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor had an en suite bathroom, necessary if one needs to leave at an early h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank judynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

During our road trip in August 2011, we happened upon the beautiful Alpenglow B&B in Kimberley. The hosts, Anja and Theo, were excellent. We enjoyed their warm hospitality and appreciated helpful tips for exploring the area, such as learning about a short-cut that made our walk into town last mere minutes. Thanks also for the pointer to the natural hot springs! We loved the beautifully decorated, rustic rooms with their European "Gemuetlichkeit" and--of course--the delicious breakfast. Anja kindly took dietary preferences into consideration (gluten free bread). Another plus included being able to have an authentic German meal at The Old Bauernhaus, a traditional restaurant shipped directly from Germany, right across the street. I guess, the only downside is that, if you're travelling with a pet, you won't be able to stay at Alpenglow. Otherwise though, we highly recommend staying at Alpenglow B&B!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kimberley hotels
0.9 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 5 in Kimberley
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kimberley
398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 5 in Kimberley
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kimberley
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn West-Kirkwood Inn
Inn West-Kirkwood Inn
#5 of 6 in Kimberley
16 reviews
1.0 mi away
Northstar Mountain Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3 Alpenglow Crt, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 3E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kimberley
Price Range: $92 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and cosy B&B for singles, (gay) couples, families, children welcome. No pets, no smoking. Up to 15/16 people can stay in our house, so ideal for a family get away! Feel at home in European style house with spacious, comfortable, woodcrafted rooms. Our rooms either have en-suite, private or shared bathroom. Enjoy a delicious home cooked breakfast complimented with fresh fruit, we make our own breads, jams and everything we serve is made from scratch. Relax in the hot tub, sauna or our quiet green garden. Our house is situated in a very quiet neighbourhood. Kimberley is perfect for summer and winter holidays. In the summer there are many excellent golf courses nearby, hike and (mountain) bike trails, lakes for swimming and sun bathing, waterfalls, rafting, fly fishing, Fort Steele heritage town, the mine museum or just visit cosy, car free down town Kimberley with nice shops and restaurants. In the winter: we are close to the ski hill (only two minutes) and cross country skiing starts in our back yard! Or snow shoeing, snow mobiling, dog sledding, ice fishing. Down town Kimberley is only a 5 minutes (short cut) walk and we are across from the well known restaurant The Old Bauernhaus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing