We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem tucked away above the town of Kimberley.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Kimberley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem tucked away above the town of Kimberley.”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Alpenglow in late August 2011 and found this immaculate and peaceful B&B so welcoming. Anja, our hostess, readily answered all of our questions about the town and surrounding area, gave directions, provided a common room where one could relax and mingle with others, and prepared a beautiful breakfast for us at an early hour so that we could be on our way back to the States. An assortment of fresh fruit and homemade breads accompanied our eggs, sausage, and freshly brewed coffee as the three of us quietly chatted before departing this truly special place. We'll return for sure!!

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor had an en suite bathroom, necessary if one needs to leave at an early h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
88
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2011

During our road trip in August 2011, we happened upon the beautiful Alpenglow B&B in Kimberley. The hosts, Anja and Theo, were excellent. We enjoyed their warm hospitality and appreciated helpful tips for exploring the area, such as learning about a short-cut that made our walk into town last mere minutes. Thanks also for the pointer to the natural hot springs! We loved the beautifully decorated, rustic rooms with their European "Gemuetlichkeit" and--of course--the delicious breakfast. Anja kindly took dietary preferences into consideration (gluten free bread). Another plus included being able to have an authentic German meal at The Old Bauernhaus, a traditional restaurant shipped directly from Germany, right across the street. I guess, the only downside is that, if you're travelling with a pet, you won't be able to stay at Alpenglow. Otherwise though, we highly recommend staying at Alpenglow B&B!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Anja and Theo Janssen were very warm and welcoming hosts. We felt like we were in our own home with the added fun of mixing with other guests with our hosts joining in with us. Our breakfast was perfect with lots of fresh fruit and Anja's baked goods accompanying our eggs and coffee. The accommodations were great. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We shared a bathroom. Other suites had two baths, so I suggest you reserve ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria bc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Alpenglow is a home away from home. Extensive breakfast,Cozy Bavarian style accommodations. Interesting hosts.This was our fourth visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Anja and Theo at Alpenglow B&B were absolutely great hosts. The room and ensuite were clean, the room quiet, had a very comfy king size bed, and best of all, the breakfasts were wonderful. Anything we needed, they were more than willing to help us out and accommodated us and the other guests. It is definitely a place to stay at again next time a trip to Kimberley comes up!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Excellent hosts, Dutch clean establishment in a great locale.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband and I and our two young children stayed here and loved everything about our stay. Our room was very large and could easily accommodate 5 or 6 people. The hosts went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay and our breakfast was fabulous. My husband has a gluten allergy, so he was provided with home-made gluten free bread and other alternatives. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimberley
0.8 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 4 in Kimberley
205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kimberley
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
0.3 mi away
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kimberley
80 reviews
1.6 mi away
North Star Motel
North Star Motel
#3 of 4 in Kimberley
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3 Alpenglow Crt, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 3E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and cosy B&B for singles, (gay) couples, families, children welcome. No pets, no smoking. Up to 15/16 people can stay in our house, so ideal for a family get away! Feel at home in European style house with spacious, comfortable, woodcrafted rooms. Our rooms either have en-suite, private or shared bathroom. Enjoy a delicious home cooked breakfast complimented with fresh fruit, we make our own breads, jams and everything we serve is made from scratch. Relax in the hot tub, sauna or our quiet green garden. Our house is situated in a very quiet neighbourhood. Kimberley is perfect for summer and winter holidays. In the summer there are many excellent golf courses nearby, hike and (mountain) bike trails, lakes for swimming and sun bathing, waterfalls, rafting, fly fishing, Fort Steele heritage town, the mine museum or just visit cosy, car free down town Kimberley with nice shops and restaurants. In the winter: we are close to the ski hill (only two minutes) and cross country skiing starts in our back yard! Or snow shoeing, snow mobiling, dog sledding, ice fishing. Down town Kimberley is only a 5 minutes (short cut) walk and we are across from the well known restaurant The Old Bauernhaus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing