We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great historical excursion”

Kimberley's Underground Mining Railway
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Kimberley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit us and ride the rails through the beautiful Mark Creek valley as you listen to the history of Kimberley and the Sullivan Mine. Experience life as a miner at the Underground Interpretive Centre. Participate in our mining show and be exposed to working mine equipment. Enjoy spectacular scenery and the occasional wild life as you travel to the Kimberley Alpine Resort. After a brief stop at the Resort Station you can learn more about Kimberley as you continue back to the Downtown Station.
Calgary
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great historical excursion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had some free time on our hands and decided to try the Underground Railway excursion. We are glad we did. The train takes you through through part of the Valley to where the old mine is, and both enroute and return we were able to see deer, elk and mountain sheep. You go into the mine where all the history is explained and you are able to get off the train and examine the equipment used for mining, drilling and excavation. It was fun and educational and has our recommendation. It is open only during the summer months.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    37
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Underground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great look at the "inner workings" of a huge mine. Nothing to dislike, as far as we were concerned. They have a former miner who gives an excellent oral presentation. Lots to look at while underground. And a fun trainride into and out of the mine.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheCakes59904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Exceptional Tour - Exceptional Volunteers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This tour is one of the best interpretive tours I have been on. The train ride was fun - mostly outside then stops inside the mine tunnel where you get out and receive a demonstration of working mine equipment. It is cool in the mine so you should dress warmly. The guide, a reitred miner, was receptive to all questions and was great with his response. The train then made a return trip stoppin at the Power Station where another guide gave us an overview of that building. An exceptional tour for all ages! To the volunteers who make this attraction a great one - thank you so much!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tourismrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Talk about a tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Let me say without a doubt there isn't a summer that goes by that I don't take visitors for a ride on Kimberley's Underground Mining Railway. The experience is unique and definitely worth the trip. The train tour guides and Miner Bill make the tour most informative and fun. There are so many things to learn and each time I learn something new.
The ride can be cool so it's a good idea to bring a sweater or light jacket even on the hottest day. Once underground it can be a little damp and chilly.
My best experience was when the Men of the Deeps came to Kimberley and sang underground. My heart melted.
Thank you Kimberley for this experience and adding value to the tourist experience here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maltgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jam Packed With History!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We liked the underground mining railway, though it was a bit long for my 5 year old. Very informative - the guys who do the tour are very passionate about their jobs! Great experience!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimberley's Underground Mining Railway also viewed

Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Kimberley's Underground Mining Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing