We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoy Bootleg Rec 9”
Review of Bootleg Gap Golf

Bootleg Gap Golf
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Kimberley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bootleg Gap Golf, located in Kimberley British Columbia, is truly a complete golf facility. With 27 outstanding holes, and a stunning location along the St. Mary River. The Championship course at Bootleg Gap is highlighted with the 12th, a dramatic par-3 that swoops down into the hoodoo-lined hillside and is one of the most scenic par-3s in the region. For variety try the Recreational 9; it's a hybrid and fun for every level of player.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 775 helpful votes
“Always enjoy Bootleg Rec 9”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We always enjoy golfing 9 holes at the Bootleg Rec 9 course. It's only $19.00 & easy to walk. This time we decided to rent a cart, which was $16.00. The course is a par 34 with 3 par 3's, 5 par 4's and 1 519 yard par 5. It took us 1 hour 40 minutes to play and never had to wait or had other golfers behind us. It's nestled in the trees at times but still had comfortably wide fairways. Beautiful mountain & gap views as well. A washroom is located at the halfway point & we always enjoy drinks & snacks on the patio at the restaurant/clubhouse after. It's location is perfect, overlooking the 18th hole of the regular course. The food is excellent, as is the service. They also have a very nice store to pick up some golf items or Bootleg caps/shirts. I highly recommend Bootleg Gap Golf if you're in the Kimberley area!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertaChristiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor S, Manager at Bootleg Gap Golf, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a Tripadvisor review and for recommending Bootleg Gap. I am glad you enjoyed your round on the Rec 9. Enjoy the rest of the golfing season.

Trevor Simkins,
Bootleg Gap Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    16
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a personal favorite”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I took my parents, who are avid golfers, to this course while they were visiting the area and they loved it! The course was in great shape, the staff was friendly and and we enjoyed the scenic views of the St.Mary River. I would recommend this course to anyone visiting the area :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor S, Manager at Bootleg Gap Golf, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a Tripadvisor review. I am glad your parents enjoyed their round at Bootleg. Enjoy the rest of the golfing season!

Trevor Simkins,
Bootleg Gap Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a very well laid out golf course that includes some challenging holes. Well maintained. Everything a serious golfer could want.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor S, Manager at Bootleg Gap Golf, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for highly recommending Bootleg Gap on Tripadvisor. All the staff here at Bootleg greatly appreciate your positive comments. Enjoy the rest of the golfing season!

Trevor Simkins,
Head Professional
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Course, Variety of Holes”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I played this course on July 10, 2013. This course is possibly the best value in the Kimberley area. The greens had been aerated the day before, but the course notified us several weeks in advance. There was a reduced rate in effect, but the conditions were still fantastic.

The course contains a wide variety of holes including some very open holes to get started, before moving down into some tight holes on the back nine. Even if you do hit into the trees, you have a good chance of finding your ball and being able to hit a recovery shot. The course is slightly easier than other courses in the area (slope of 120 from the blue tees at 6400 yards), but still offers a good challenge.

Pros
- Affordable green fee
- Wide variety of holes
- Large well maintained practice facility

Cons
- Practice balls not included in rate

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor S, Manager at Bootleg Gap Golf, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a Tripadvisor review. All of the staff here at Bootleg Gap appreciate your positive comments. Thank you for being so understanding during our aeration schedule. We hope that you enjoy the rest of the golfing season!

Trevor Simkins
Head Professional
Bootleg Gap Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Course, Great Service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Showed up early for our tee time. Woman at the counter told us 2 threesomes had just teed off but we were up when we're ready. This is the kind of information not everyone gives you when you show up to a golf course. It's much appreciated. She then pointed us off to where the first tee is.

We played the rec 9 course. The greens were fast and aside from the first fairway, we found the fairways to be tight for a shorter, more novice-oriented course. You can lose your ball really easily with an errant shot. But what a course! I'd play it again and again if I lived near.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spaceboy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor S, Manager at Bootleg Gap Golf, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. All of the staff here at Bootleg Gap appreciate your positive comments. Thank you for taking the time to play the Rec 9 on your visit to Kimberley. We hope that you enjoy the rest of the golfing season!

Trevor Simkins,
Head Professional
Bootleg Gap Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bootleg Gap Golf also viewed

 
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Bootleg Gap Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing