We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Party Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northstar Mountain Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Party Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

In Early September I hosted a birthday party and had all my friends over. It was cheap the service could not have been better and the rooms were amazing. Some of the other rooms beside us were a bit loud but we got over that. the beds were extremely comfy and the fireplace was beautiful. I felt right at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydney h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Director of Sales at Northstar Mountain Village Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of Northstar Mountain Village. We agree that Northstar is a great location to have a birthday party or group gathering. Please stay with us again for those other special occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    21
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked this on an Interval Exchange and it was just beautiful. We stayed in a 2 BR cabin , three dories with the BR's upstairs. It is very spacious, could probably sleep 6. The unit is in excellent condition, new and with good furniture and SS alliances in the kitchen. It has one car attached garage, and one balcony off the main floor wit BBQ and table and one patio downstairs with a jetted tub. There are 3 BA in the unit and a W&D on the top floor with the two BR's.
Our unit overlooked the forest and the mountains and it was very quiet, private and well maintained.

Room Tip: No room service or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaMarie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Director of Sales at Northstar Mountain Village Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Northstar Mountain Village. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Northstar. Even though we live in Kimberley we are reminded daily of the spectacular views you get at Northstar. Please choose to stay with us again when vacationing in Kimberley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
386 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom unit on an exchange from Interval International. We arrived early and the staff were very accommodating and let us check into the condo right away.. Very well appointed kitchen with everything you need. Spacious and clean unit.Gas stone fireplace in the living room. Large bedrooms with very comfortable beds and pillows. Small but adequate bathrooms. Lots of hot water. Private hot tub & BBQ on a large deck which also had a large round table and 4 chairs. Fast fee internet. We loved the heavy wood furniture and beams, very unique....Quiet peaceful surroundings. We were lucky enough to see a bear and deer during our stay here. I would have given this lodge an excellent rating if it hadn't been for these minor things... Bring your own toiletries as they only provide soap, and only one of the bathrooms had Kleenex. The master bedroom did not have a clock radio, some of the lights weren't working, and the only phone in the unit was cordless and didn't hold a charge. The pool is closed after middle of October for the winter. No restaurant on sight but you are only a few minutes away from local eateries. Our GPS did not accept the address but if you put in Gerry Sorensen Way, just continue on the paved road to the top and it is the last Resort on the right before the road turns to gravel.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. It was a great week!!!!!

Room Tip: Some units are facing the ski hill and others the woods. If you prefer one location ask when you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz730053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Director of Sales at Northstar Mountain Village Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of Northstar Mountain Village. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. I will bring to the attention of all management staff the items you noted that would have improved your stay. Thank you for your feedback and please stay at Northstar Mountain Village again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Modern and spacious units. Some have great views of the mountains. Hot tub in each unit is a real plus. My recommendation to the management: Replace the heavy bed comforters with blankets so you have better temperature control for sleeping.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with a view of the mountains. A top floor would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Director of Sales at Northstar Mountain Village Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Northstar Mountain Village. We also think that the mountain views from the balconies are breathtaking. Enjoying the view from your private hot tub is also a great experience. I will pass on your recommendation in regards to the bed comforters for management to take this into consideration.
Next time you are in Kimberley please stay again at Northstar Mountain Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you're heading to Kimberley to ski or snowboard with a group of friends! Ski in and ski out, right on the mountain and a very cozy condos. I've stayed here at least 5 or 6 times, celebrated New Years here 2 years ago and going back for New Years this year. The prices are reasonable, and if you have a group of 8-10 people, it works out to about $200 per person for 3 nights. Every condo has a hot tub and it's a lot of fun! The kitchen is fully equipped and we always make our own breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bedding is great, and there's a washer and dryer for after you get back from a day on the mountain. Also there's a heated pool and a hot tub in the community hall 20 second walk from your unit! These units are becoming harder to get, as more people are discovering how great they are, so reserve early and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kotbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Director of Sales at Northstar Mountain Village Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Northstar Mountain Village. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We do offer great packages to make a ski and stay vacation reasonable. New Year's is always a fun time at Northstar and we look forward to seeing you again this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom unit for the 3 nights over Christmas 2012. The bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen were clean. But the huge disappointment was the beds. The master bedroom had a double bed. The second bedroom had a twin bed-not even a double! We did not change units as we were there to celebrate Christmas with family not make a fuss. On check-out, we told the front desk what the beds were like and we heard" "I'll see what I can do about that for you." I interpreted that as meaning we would hear back from the hotel with a comment, even better a return on monies for the rip-off of the beds. We heard nothing. Not an email of apology. Over Christmas, the unit was plenty expensive. For the poor beds experience, I would recommend that upon booking your unit, one specifically ask if the beds are going to be what you would hope and expect to find in your unit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice10411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Director of Sales at Northstar Mountain Village Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of Northstar Mountain Village. We are happy to hear that most of our condo's amenities met your needs. It is unfortunate that the bed configuration in your unit did not match what you were looking for. Had you voiced your concerns to guest services during your stay we may have been able to resolve the concern. For example, the two twins in the 2nd bedroom can be made into one king size bed.
We do hope you choose to visit Kimberley again and will give Northstar Mountain Village another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spacious, clean, comfortable beds & furniture, gas fireplace, roomy kitchen, natural wood décor, beautiful view, hot tub & BBQ grill on porch overlooking valley with the Rockies in the distance. Check in was fast and friendly. Rental movies & games available if weather gets bad. 2.5 to 3 hrs to Glacier, Yoho, Kootenay and Banff National parks. 4 to 4.5 hrs to Waterton, Revelstoke and Canadian Glacier Parks. The resort is several minutes from downtown Kimberley, which is set up as an Alpine/German village.
Everyone was extremely friendly. We were there the second week in September, there was snowfall the last day there in the mountains & trees were just turning yellow which made for spectacular photographs of the mountains. Can't go wrong here! Probably a ski Heaven.....

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room!!! Higher rooms might have a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Director of Sales at Northstar Mountain Village Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of Northstar Mountain Village. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you pointing out that our staff is friendly as we take pride in our staff and the excellent work they do. Please come and stay with us again. You should come in the winter to see that we are indeed a ski heaven!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimberley
0.2 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 4 in Kimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
2.4 mi away
North Star Motel
North Star Motel
#3 of 4 in Kimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northstar Mountain Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northstar Mountain Village Resort

Property: Northstar Mountain Village Resort
Address: 1351 Gerry Sorensen Way | P.O. Box 305, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northstar Mountain Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northstar Mountain Village Resort. This year, plan your vacation at Northstar. Enjoy four seasons of fun, with luxurious accommodation, spectacular rocky mountain scenery, and the convenience of our Alpine Club amenities, including seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub, fitness room and Spa. Share good times with friends and family and make vacation memories that last a lifetime. Set against an incredible rocky mountain backdrop overlooking the Kimberley Alpine Resort, Northstar is perfect for families & couples, outdoor enthusiasts, and nature lovers of all kinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Northstar Mountain Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar Mountain Village Hotel Kimberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing