We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class accommodation with a picture postcard view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northstar Mountain Village Resort
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top class accommodation with a picture postcard view”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here during the August long weekend 2012 with our 5 week old daughter and our family visiting from the UK.
We were in apartment F4 and it was very spacious with a large open plan living area. The balcony was large too, with a full size natural gas BBQ, patio set and full size hot tub, overlooking the Kootenay Rockies - perfect!
One en-suite main bedroom with double bed and an additional bedroom with two singles with a bathroom outside the door.
All amenities including in-suite washer & dryer.
Ski storage (if needed in winter) but no garage with apartment F4 - others did have them.
Great looking outdoor pool and hot tub area in the centre of the complex (but we didn't use it).
Montana's restaurant is a 5 min walk down the slope.
Downtown Kimberley is a 5-10 minute drive down the hill.

We experienced some vehicle trouble and the staff were helpful in getting us back on the road and were great when we had to extend our stay at the last minute due to the latter.

Room Tip: For the best views - ask for an apartment overlooking the lower South-East slopes. For additional s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DodsYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    24
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
18
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here in July of 2012. Our two bedroom condo was really nice. The hot tub on the deck was fabulous! The kitchen was well stocked and we loved that we had in suite laundry. The double bed was a little small to share but luckily we had an additional sofa bed in the room. The bathrooms were nice and the living room/dining room/kitchen was fabulous! Everything we needed was there.
The staff was very friendly and had great suggestions as to what to do in the area. The grounds were impeccably kept. The pool was great although it was sometimes hard to find a spot to sit. This has more to do with people leaving and not giving there spots up. The water was warm and my kids never wanted to come out.
We were in a main floor unit with our patio and deck facing the mountains. It unfortunately wasn't air conditioned so it was a little hot to sleep. I would ask for a unit with air conditioning.
We really enjoyed our stay. The condo would easily sleep 10 if need be. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Not all units have air conditioning, ask in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heidi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

It is such a shame that an otherwise very nice unit, could not be enjoyed when the first thing my son noticed was a spider web when we walked in the door. We then looked up and saw extensive spider webs from one light to a corner in the hallway. It was pretty major as my husband you his golf ball retriever and removed the web like spinning cotton candy. I had informed the office who said they would mention it to the cleaning staff, but since the unit only gets cleaned after we leave, it did not benefit us any. It was hard not to constantly be on the look out for more webs/insects. When I found an insect in my bed the 3rd night, I immediately assumed the worst, but my husband assured me it did not look like a bed bug and no one received any bites during our stay.
Overall the place was otherwise fairly clean. Quite large, housing lots of guests. Lovely location. Well equipped, with exception would have benefited from more towels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 17pmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed the July long weekend in a 3 bedroom. Our first dip in the hottub on the deck had the added view of a white tailed deer. Nice greeting. Private garage. Lots of room/beds. Well stocked kitchen. The only cos were the pits were not great quality but they worked just fine. I also found use of duvets a bit much for summer and would have preferred a quilt. Neither con will stop me from coming back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachjamie21-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

There is not a lot to do here in the summer. You have to drive to town or elsewhere in order to find things to do. The units were very nice, pool was fun, saw lots of deer. All in all it should not be called a resort as it is only a bunch of (really nice) townhouses that are rented out when the owners are not there. Beware that you cannot guarantee specific units. If the owner of a certain unit decides to come in to town, you will be moved. We went with another family and we had booked side by side rooms so our kids could play and we could BBQ together etc. We were told no problem but when we arrived we were told that our owners decided to come in last moment and we were moved 7 or 8 units down and there was nothing they could do as the owners take precedence. I suspect had there not been an extra unit we would have been looking for a hotel after driving half the day to get there. Bottom line I would suggest looking elsewhere. We would not return.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you want the best units, ask for a recently renovated unit. Some of the older units are shabby chic but still comfortable. Older style, torn upholstery, older CRT TV. Small CRT TV in second suite. The other is without a tv. Hottub needed repair, and they came to fix with a little coaxing. Apparently the guy who fixes these things is a fair commute away.

The ski hill made up for it all. The kids could just leave the balcony and go ski the bunny hill for a warm up while us slower adults drank our coffee and baileys and got ready to hit the slopes.

Upon entering this place it was like a maze. I opened door after door trying to find my way somewhere. It's rather amusing; although frustrating when all you want is the bathroom. The kids found it amusing. Eventually one door is the way! Storage room in the covered garage, another just inside the suite door, and several large closets to ...discover. And stash ski stuff or supplies. It would be nice if the exit door from the garage was better marked.

Inspite of its shabby chic tastes, it was well stocked. Nice to have a full kitchen, including full-size coffee maker, and ice maker (woohoo!). Bring scissors, tin foil. Didn't think there were enough towels, as it would be nice to just have specific ones for the hottub, and different ones for the shower. But there is a washer and dryer, which we used to dry our wet ski gear!

BBQ was awesome. Gas fireplace was nice to come back to, and no fuss: fire! However if you like a wood fire, this might not be the one.

What else can I say? It's location is sublime! Great price, and the kids (9 and 11) were ecstatic to have their own suite. So were we....but we also think this would be a great place for two couples to share. It has two rooms plus two hide-a-beds. You could potentially have quite a number of people.

Now stop worrying about your condo and get outdoors!

Room Tip: Ask for a recently reno'd room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our World Harmony Run team is extremely grateful to the management of this resort to provide us with this fantastic accommodation. Not only the premises are exquisite but also the managers are kind-hearted people which we really experienced.
You will feel like in a wooden palace in mountains, very spacious, kitchen and living room on the ground floor with a fireplace, private jacuzzi on the terrace and three individual rooms, each with its own bathroom.
Beautifully chosen decorations enhance the feeling of nature (e.g. woolen curtains to keep it even warmer) and beds are so comfortable that you will want to take the pillow with you :) (but please don't do that).
Each unit has also a private garage. We can only recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milena1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimberley
0.2 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 4 in Kimberley
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
381 reviews
13.4 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kimberley
29 reviews
2.4 mi away
North Star Motel
North Star Motel
#3 of 4 in Kimberley
27 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northstar Mountain Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northstar Mountain Village Resort

Property: Northstar Mountain Village Resort
Address: 1351 Gerry Sorensen Way | P.O. Box 305, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northstar Mountain Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northstar Mountain Village Resort. This year, plan your vacation at Northstar. Enjoy four seasons of fun, with luxurious accommodation, spectacular rocky mountain scenery, and the convenience of our Alpine Club amenities, including seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub, fitness room and Spa. Share good times with friends and family and make vacation memories that last a lifetime. Set against an incredible rocky mountain backdrop overlooking the Kimberley Alpine Resort, Northstar is perfect for families & couples, outdoor enthusiasts, and nature lovers of all kinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Northstar Mountain Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar Mountain Village Hotel Kimberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing