We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Theo's Eatery

Theo's Eatery
Ranked #2 of 152 Restaurants in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Greek, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expected more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My steak was overcooked and stringy and though replaced with one that was indeed medium rare, was just as hard to chew. My friend had a piece of dried out salmon with what she considered a overly sweet glaze but she did like her Greek salad and said everything was fresh and crisp. We did not bother with desert but both agreed that this was not a place we would reconsider in a hurry.
Service was very basic

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pheromona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    154
    42
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have been to Theo's many times & always enjoy it. The restaurant is casual & cozy. The menu features a great selection of greek, italian, or classic North American choices. The prices are reasonable & the service is friendly. My favourite entree is the chicken parmesan; always leftovers for lunch too! My only complaint is with the soup; it tends to be salty & tinny. Maybe from a can? Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place; we will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank physio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't order lasagna”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We anticipated a good meal here before a show at Rama based on reviews and line up upon arrival. My lasagna was very unappetizing with very little filling and too much greasy cheese. Friends steak was to be rare but came overcooked. Other friends said lamb chops and stir fry were good so maybe they just need to focus on some specialties. Service friendly but slow. Won't return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Muggette60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I took my husband for his birthday as his favorite is the steak and spaghetti. When we arrived, the hostess told us she could squeeze us in but we had to be done within an hour because of reservations. My husband's steak was not cooked as ordered and he couldn't eat the spaghetti. My grilled shrimp was so over cooked, I could barely chew it. My mom ordered the beer battered fish and when the waitress came it was frozen fish filets! The entire time we were trying to eat, the hostess was staring at us (guess the time limit she'd given us was just about up). Including tip, this horrible meal was just under $200.00. Next time my husband wants steak and spaghetti, we will go to Casa Mia in Barrie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food that is to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I recently went to Theo's Eatery for my boyfriends birthday. It was the first time I went and it most definitely will not be my last. Their ceasar salad dressing was delicious, I could live on that and that alone. Their garlic bread is just full of cheesy, garlicy goodness and I couldn't get enough. We tried the spanakopitas and they were honestly just the best. By the time our meals got around (Theo's House Special Spaghetti and the Chicken Alfredo,) we were too full to make a dent into the huge portions, so we got the rest to go. Honestly, every bit of it was worth the money we spent on our dinner. Some restaurants, you can pay $14 for a plate of spaghetti and it looks as if it could be an appetizer, but Theo's...Theo's is well worth it. I don't even know where they even find plates that big. I'll be eating Chicken Alfredo for days. The waitress came around at all the right times, and the atmosphere was elegant, yet casual.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meagan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theo's Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Theo's Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing