We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently surpasses your taste buds' expectations!”

Mariposa Market Stores
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Consistently surpasses your taste buds' expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Busy, busy but worth the wait. Plenty of servers to take orders and keep people moving. Don't go if you are dieting. Calorie lovers delight...blueberry cheesecake muffins, yummy! Apple, carmel strudel, serves 7 for $6, delicious, and the list goes on and on.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandandSouthSeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    151
    32
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Have to Visit!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Let's clarify and review separately - Mariposa Market is actually four separate stores.

First, there are two clothing and "unique gifts" stores that sandwich the bakery. Cute little shops with clothing, jewelry, purses, funny cards, pajamas, kitchen gadgets etc. Fun to browse.

Underneath the bakery is a kitchen shop. Every kitchen tool imaginable, reasonable prices. Again, super fun to shop and browse. Also has fresh fudge - I personally don't like fudge, but judging by the constant line-up and people buying multiple pounds at a time, it's pretty darn good.

Last and certainly not least is the actual bakery, everything made in-store. Middle store, upstairs. GO EARLY, they sell out of the popular items (like a Skor loaf that tastes like magic and rainbows). They sell fresh made breads, pastries, cupcakes, donuts (the size of my head), cookies, you name it. Everything is beyond delicious. They also serve cafe-type items such as sandwiches, grilled buns, soup, salad - again, amazing. They have little chocolate treats and unique preserves as well.

Hint: they have Gluten-free bread that my co-worker swears tastes BETTER than regular bread.

I dare you to go and NOT buy something. Impossible, can't just browse without purchasing. Local treasure, I can't even drive past Orillia without stopping in.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Must visit the Mariposa Market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

What a neat place! Lots of really different items for sale. I wouldn't call it a Restaurant, but a cafeteria style as it's a lineup to pick and order your food, and bring it to your table. Plastic utensils. Nothing wrong with that at all, just sayin'! Really good food. I had a pizza on foccacia bread and my friend had the Thai salad, which she said was really good. Lots of baked goods that looked very tempting! Definitely a "must check it out".

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NorthernSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Never disappoints ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I come here every year and it's always good. So many neat things to look at here. The lunch is tasty and so many choices. People just walk around in awe at this market. Every town needs one.

Helpful?
Thank hotsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great place to stop with the kids for a pastry or early lunch. Great service with attention to detail.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nosneb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariposa Market Stores also viewed

 

Been to Mariposa Market Stores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing