We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to eat downtown”

Mariposa Market Stores
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place to eat downtown”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've lived in Orillia my whole life and would recommend Mariposa to anyone that is to visit or stay in Orillia. Friendly courteous staff. Fresh foods & such a wide variety of choices! They always have neat items for every occasion. We buy all our special cakes from Mariposa because they are guaranteed to do a fabulous job everytime. Check them out you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    153
    33
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Yummy desserts”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were staying at the Carriage Hills Resort in September , so we decided to drive to Orillia.
After we had lunch at the Brewery Bay restaurant , we were passing by a bakery.
It was the Mariposa Market place and it was abuzz with activity of diners enjoying their meals/snacks/desserts/drinks inside.
What attracted us to the bakery showcase was the Caramel Apple strudel. We enjoy apple
Strudels and my daughter picked out a Mixed Berry Pie for $10.
It was very tasty, fresh, and worth visiting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank piggylyew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Mariposa Market--Must See”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited the Bakery and Cafe and were pleasantly surprised by the incredible assortment of cookies, loaves, cakes, and tarts. We bought the rhubarb-raspberry crumble and a friend purchased the amazing chocolate cake! You really must stop by and taste their wares.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent bakery and service!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Been here so many times and keep returning.
Were from out of town about 1 3/4 hours away.
Excellent bread, cake loaves, cheese croissants, blueberry fritters and the amazing Skor's butter tarts! If you buy 6 croissants and fritters, your actually save money. Great when you have a family.
A little pricey, but well worth it. So good!
Everything that we have tried has been great with fast and friendly service!
The store is also packed with people buying bakery goods or enjoying a soup, sandwich, other meals or salad, which you can dine inside at a table or eat outside.
A favorite place to stop!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We participated in the 15 Annual Orillia Downtown Classic Car Show on Saturday August 17, 2013. And while there we visited the Mariposa Market at the request of our daughter to buy the 'Man BBQ Sauce' and try their butter tarts. The butter tarts were very good. None left! Be sure to add this store to your list of must visit places in Orillia.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happier_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariposa Market Stores also viewed

 

Been to Mariposa Market Stores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing