We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average!”
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Average!”
Reviewed July 1, 2007

I booked a room for this hotel after I saw the amazing rating here in Tripadvisor. I had really high expectations for leisure vacation in a luxury hotel.

When I arrived I discovered that this hotel is located in the middle of a really ugly parking lot on both sides of the hotel in an uninspired neighborhood of Oriilia.

The loby is nice and tiny, and check in was nothing exceptional.
I must admit that the room we got, was VERY clean and nicely prepared. The bed was comfortable and the shower was good.
They also have a silly ritual of knocking on the door EVERY afternoon to bring you a card with the weather forecast for the following day with small mint chocolates.

The breakfast was our biggest disappointment. There was nothing more than an average "Days Inn" continental breakfast with almost no place to seat.

We also wanted to have room service, however around 10:30 pm we were informed that the "housekeeper" was out, so we had to head to the nearest coffee shop (not that they have in Orillia so many places to dine in).

After all, it is a nice hotel, but nothing that justifies the very high pricing (I would rate it as a 3 star hotel). For the price this hotel charges I can easily find a 5 star hotel in a better location.

  • Liked — The clean room
  • Disliked — Breakfast and price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Simonk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    150
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
274
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Simcoe, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

This is a very nice inn. All the rooms are suites, so if you're just staying one night (to go to CasinoRama or something) it may be a little too much. Our room had a living room, kitchen with fridge and microwave, and a large bedroom with a king-size bed. This place looks like an apartment building for retired seniors ( I think maybe that's what it used to be, but the balconies have been removed). It's close to everything and has a free shuttle to the casino that runs until 2am. This hotel is best for couples or families, but I wouldn't suggest it for people who are in town to party. It's a very quiet building.

  • Liked — The suites are great!
  • Disliked — A little over the top in every way.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank katewake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

Hotel very clean, especial the bathroon. Comp breakfast was great... WOULD DEFINTELY STAY there again.

  • Liked — The clean bathroom
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msmg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2007

This is my wife and my second stay at the Stone Gate Inn in Orillia.

Both times we've taken the executive suite which includes a king-sized bed and jacuzzi. The rooms are very spacious, the hotel in beautiful and the service is excellent.

  • Liked — Excellent Value, Great Service
  • Disliked — Not much!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orillia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

I could not pass up this opportunity to send along my comments where it concerns our temporary but much needed stay at the Stone Gate Inn.

After a recent household flood, and on the advise of The Economical Insurance Group, my daughter and myself moved into the Stone Gate Inn while cleanup was being done. Over the course of six weeks, we were treated with much grace and superb hospitality. Our room (home away from home) was spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean with all the amenities one would need to survive such a challenging ordeal. Each and every morning, we were greeted with pleasant smiles and offers of any additional services required. We, as well as our occasional guests, were always treated with the utmost respect and genuine kindness.

I cannot tell you what a pleasure it was to experience the Stone Gate Inn...a soft place to fall.

Many thanks again.

Sincerely,


Tracey and Sarah Vollick

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank shadoworillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

We were pleasantly suprised by this hotel. It is out of the main stream and we could not believe the qualtiy of the accommodations.
The rooms are large clean and nicely decorated. We had a fireplace in our room for only $10.00 more than a standard room.
Next time we are staying in a two room suite as this was amazing.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would defintely recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Liked — rooms and staff
  • Disliked — no dining room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smoo1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Stone Gate Inn on Feb 1 and Feb 2. The reviews here are true--this is truly a fine hotel and the service is excellent. When we checked in we were greeted by very friendly staff. Our room and key were ready upon arrival; there was no waiting at the front desk. The hotel knew that it was my wife's birthday and had a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us--chilled with two glasses. As well, they had made arrangements for flowers to be in the room for my wife upon our arrival. The room was excellent--we were staying in a Luxury Suite--the suite is very spacious with a kitchen; living room with couch, TV, and gas fireplace; separate bedroom with a comfortable King size bed and TV; and a spacious bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate shower. The room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed all the amenities. We had tickets to see Howie Mandel at Casino Rama and used the complimentary shuttle from the hotel. The shuttle was clean and convenient, but keep in mind that they do stop at many other hotels along the way. The shuttle ride took about 45 minutes to the casino. Had we driven ourselves it would have been about 15 minutes. However, if you want to sit back and relax it is convenient. We also enjoyed the daily complimentary breakfast. The food was fresh and more expansive than a typical continental breakfast. We also enjoyed a cocktail and complimentary hors d'oeuvres in the Fireside Lounge on the Friday night. This is certainly recommended. The only criticism we had was when we ordered dinner at the Hotel. Our food was OK but a bit cool. All in all, I highly recommend the Stone Gate Inn. If you are looking for a nice, relaxing getaway with a spacious room, great amenities, and excellent customer service, all at a great value, then the Stone Gate Inn is for you.

  • Liked — The room, the service, breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres
  • Disliked — Dinner from restaurant was ok
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JLToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
208 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 14 in Orillia
229 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
1.5 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Property: Stone Gate Inn
Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing