We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great getaway”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Overall I was very impressed with the hotel.
Pros - very clean, nice rooms with kitchenette, good breakfeast, free parking, not too far from the casino.
Cons - limited parking, slightly rude staff ( I would agree with the previous poster. We didn't have any problems, but overheard conversation with someone on the phone, he was a bit rude to them), beds slightly uncomfortable

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoopyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    150
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
274
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I'll be back here for sure!

I recently held an event at this hotel, and the quality of service I received throughout the entire experience was incredible, nothing less. It totally exceeded any experience I have ever had in dealing with conference planning at any other hotel, anywhere!

Start last fall, with booking the event. The desk clerk at that time took us on a tour of the function room (suitable for a small wedding or event for +/- 20 people), showed us the fireplace lounge where deluxe continental breakfast was still being served, and answered all our questions. She then called a housekeeper to show us examples of the full and studio suites, both beautifully furnished and equipped.

All our planning for the events went smoothly, and the hotel's representatives were both very friendly and efficient throughout the whole process.

The actual day of the event was perfect. The room looked beautiful, the decorations were exactly as we wanted, and the meal catered by the hotel in buffet style was a memorable lunch with more than enough for everyone.

When we sought to extend our stay an extra night, the answer was a prompt "Of course -- no problem!" All the staff we dealt with were most helpful in addressing minor glitches, giving advice and directions for places to eat in town, and generally making us feel welcome in any way they could.

The two-room suite included a gas fireplace, air conditioning that was quiet but effective and easy to adjust, a kitchenette with dishes and cutlery, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and toaster, and a generous two-person jacuzzi. Toiletries were of five-star hotel quality, and both bed and bath linens likewise. Little details of hospitality included tubs of real cream and milk for coffee placed in the fridge, and turn-down service with chocolate peppermint sticks every night.

The indoor pool is small, more of a splash pool than a "swimming pool", but was also immaculately clean.

I plan to use this hotel for all future trips to Orillia!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

A wonderful property with excellent rooms. Quiet and clean, both I enjoy in a property. It's too bad the receptionist at the front desk was so "snooty". We arrived early and were told that our rooms were not available yet. I realized that we were early but the attitude we were given for daring to arrive at the hour that we did certainly started off our opinion on the wrong foot. It's too bad because the balance of the staff were incredible. A change in receptionist would have certainly raised this property to the 5 stars it deserves.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsorTenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed on a Wednesday night originally for 1 night but extended our trip to 2 nights.
Our room was on the top floor overlooking the foodland parking lot. It was very quiet for sleeping and very dark which I love or else I'm up with the sun. The mini fridge came in handy. The breakfast was pretty good for a Continental/complimentary breakfast too. It is very very clean.
To be honest the three drawbacks for me were,
1/ the shower is really small and you have to be under 6' to shower comfortably.
2/ the furnishings were a bit like a old folks home, along with the fake plants and old school tv.
3/ the pool is tiny.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuesdaysgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We were going to a concert at Rama and inquired about staying at the Casino hotel over night. Well the price was an astonishing amount, $389.00 per night! I decided to surf the net for places to stay in Orillia, as it is only minutes away and found this Inn for half the price. A shuttle to and from Rama comes every hour, with the last one back to the surrounding hotels at 2 A.M., if you choice not to drive. The round trip is a little long, about 40 minutes as it has to make a few stops to pick others up at different hotels in the area, but it is only a 15 minute car ride. The price of the room which had a kitchenette included a deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary appetizers in the lounge after 5 P.M. It has a small indoor swimming pool, a fitness area in the lower level which I did not check out, along with laundry facilities. The Inn has 42 rooms, and ours was a one bedroom suite with french doors closing off the bedroom from the living room.A TV in each room with a King size bed which was very comfortable. Better television selection than the Hilton in Niagara Falls. A great stay for the price! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodpassion28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Previous positive reviews pretty much cover it all. Stayed for two nights. On arrival, noted that the total price varied from what I had been quoted online. Apparently the room we had booked was only available for one night, so they had upgraded us to a suite for our stay; reception staff readily revised the price to match the online quotation. (Hint: take a copy of your on-line booking - should make for hassle-free discussions if problems materialize; confirmation number only might not always cut it.)

One of cleanest rooms we've encountered in our travels and bed was very comfortable. Complementary hot breakfast was excellent. Have no qualms recommending the Stone Gate - you will not be disappointed! Only quibble might be that there's not much in the immediate area - but Orillia's not that big and it's only a five minute drive to the waterfront and the downtown district.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvl2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

The hotel was very classy and had everything that you could need the service was wonderful. the rooms have beautiful kitchens. There was nothing about the hotel we didnt like, the only thing we had a problem with was when we stayed there was a snow storm and the large parking lot beside the hotel was being plowed and the beeping of the plow was incredibly loud and inhibitied us from sleeping. but despite that it was a great little place for any kind of getaway

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froggerjan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
208 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 14 in Orillia
229 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
1.5 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Property: Stone Gate Inn
Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing