We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario's Near North, Canada
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Would highly recommend this beautiful inn. It is exactly what they say Luxurious. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are very clean. If I every return to Orillia this is exactly the place I will be staying.

Room Tip: Any room in the Stonegate Inn will be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review, we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    150
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
274
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a clean and well appointed inn. Stayed in room #404 with fireplace and comfortable king sized bed. Bathrooms and room were very clean. The service was prompt and friendly. Nothing bad to say at all, would highly recommend this gem!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1983holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to the pleasure of your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Had a lovely stay in this boutique hotel in Orillia. It was an early birthday present for my daughter , a getaway and tickets to a concert at Casino Rama. The hotel was lovely and clean. We had a very nice room, loved having the fridge in the room and little kitchenette. Just a nice option. Very nicely decorated, charming and inviting. Beds were pillow top and very comfrotable! Staff was excellent.

Loved having the Casino Rama package with Shuttle to and from, and $40 in tokens. The shuttle is so much more convenient than driving, dropped right at the door, and we were entertained by Christian, the hotel General Manager as our chauffeur... lots of fun, friendly, helpful and clearly loves his job! Made the journey to and from very enjoyable.

We plan on doing this again as we had a wonderful time, and we will stay at the Stone Gate Inn again. However, next time I will make sure we have a room with a sliding patio door, ( window in our room was fixed ) I did find the room a bit warm and only discovered the thermostat hidden behind a lamp the next morning. My fault for not looking closer! Love the option of fresh air.

Breakfast was lovely as well, which is also included. Overall this is a lovely spot to stay and great value for the money.

Room Tip: Ensure room has an operating window if fresh air is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such nice comments, it was a pleasure to host you. Next time you are booking please make mention to our Guest Services Staff that you would like a suite with openning french doors as we do have that option. We hope to see you agin soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We rented here because they have a free shuttle to Casino Rama for the concerts. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Very friendly staff but the room was excellent. We rented the executive suite and it had a nice sitting area with a couch and coffee table along with a kitchen area and bar. The bedroom was huge with a king size bed and TV.

We ordered room service for dinner and the food quality was very good. A nice breakfast was also included along with $40 in chips for the casino. Any time we are planning on going to Casino Rama this would be the first place I would stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
I'm very glad to see you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here last week for a night and I have to say it was nice but not what I expected. The rooms are nice and clean and the staff are very good at their jobs. I was a bit surprised with the size of the pool and sauna as it was smaller than I expected. I was also surprised the hotel does not have a restaurant for its guests. I was also surprised it also did not have in room movies to rent. As I said the room was extremely clean with many amenities....coffee, sink, fridge, desk and fireplace. We stayed on the top floor (4) and we found it noisey all night. Likely the roof mechanics and unfortunately a noisey fridge. I did not sleep very well. If we decide to stay again I sure won't stay on the top floor because of the noise of the roof.

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We certainly look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was our first time at Stonegate Inn. I decided on this place based on the reviews. We chose wisely. My wife and I were both impressed with the decor, ammenities, cleanliness and service. I've stayed in many Hotels/Motels across North America but in my opinion Stonegate Inn offers the best value for your dollar hands down. The every Friday evening cocktail hour (I think it run's from 5-8 pm) with free hot and cold snacks was great. Something few places offer these days. And the complimentry continental breakfast every morning was fantastic. It had exactly what we were looking for (even hot soft boiled eggs and sausages - my only negative is that they need to change their sausages to a more expensive brand. The ones I tasted weren't very good). The reason we stayed at the Stonegate Inn was to catch a show at Casino Rama. It was only a 15-18 minute drive which we did instead of taking the Inn's shuttle service which isn't really worth the additional cost. Overall, a great weekend and we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to offer such nice comments. I'm happy to report that after much testing and debate we have changed our breakfast sausages and they have been extremely well received. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have been staying at the Stone Gate once or twice every year for the last 8 years (approx). We keep returning because the place is fabulous! Great service, we love Happy Hour on Friday, the rooms are always absolutely clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The pool facility is great for relaxing, there is a friendly bar and the place just feels right! Although not the cheapest place in Orillia, it certainly packs value...Enjoy:)!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pomplewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and continued patronage. We are very happy to be your hotel of choice in Orillia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
208 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 14 in Orillia
229 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
1.5 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Property: Stone Gate Inn
Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing