We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“located in a quiet area, but all the perks of the big boys”
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at this inn for a couple of nights while visiting Rama to take in a show and do a little R&R. the rooms were great and had a gas fireplace, not simply and electric heater with fake flames... the bed was comfortable and the room was a very nice size... the venue had a pool that we did not use, due to the timing and served continental breakfast... which we did not use as the the room was a bit small for all the guests they had... so we ventured elsewhere ... actually to the maripossa on mississauga st... wow , now that's a place to eat....but that's another report.... internet worked great and free, the entire room and bathroom was very nicely appointed and spotless... the entire staff were very friendly

Room Tip: They had other rooms but we requested a fireplace and we are glad they did.. Since it was my lady...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanley51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 597 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

We received a lovely gift from our eldest son and his wife for Christmas.
Tickets to Little Anthony and the Imperials at Casino Rama, plus dinner out, plus a night at the Stone Gate Inn in Orillia. The room was fantastic - lovely furnishings, comfortable bed, nice washroom, fluffly robes, plus a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker and all utensils, etc.
I would definitely recommend this small hotel for anyone travelling in that area of Ontario.
Staff courteous plus complimentary cocktails before you head out for the show!
Breakfast was quite sufficient - eggs, sausages, toast, muffins, cereal, etc. etc.
A very good place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Loved everything about this quaint Inn! Will definetely stay here again!
Great service, cozy, comfortable rooms and very clean.
No question as to where we will be staying when in Orillia!
It will not disappoint!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamFennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

What a fabulous find!
We were heading to Horseshoe for New Years Eve and needed somewhere close to stay rather than driving home the same night.

We found the Stone Gate Inn online and decided to try it out.

From the staff at the front desk, to the lovely surprise when we first saw our room to all the little added touches they do to! It was all just perfect.

Our room was two double beds on the 2nd floor. Overlooking the lobby. The fact it was New Years Eve worried us for noise, but there were no noise issues at all. The room was very spacious, excellent beds, kitchenette with mini fridge (stocked with free water and a mini bottle of sparkly), toaster, all utensils and plates/bowls/etc.

They had turndown service at 5pm and nice chocolates left on the bed. Free hor'dourves that night and a free breakfast in the morning. Toasts, muffins, danish, sausages, boiled eggs, cereals and yoghurts. As well as juice, milk and coffee/tea. It was very nice!

Pool was very small but as there was no one else in it we really enjoyed it. Hot tub was nice too!

We will definately stay again when in the area. Thanks to the lovely, friendly, courteous staff!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siouxtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Hotel was very nice and the Staff are great. The room was very clean, nicely decorated and bed was comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was OK, but not to our standard. 24 supermarket right next door was great! The hotel has a shuttle to Casino Rama...but fills quickly. We decided to take a cab...$50 each direction!

Room Tip: Make sure you stay away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

!st time in Orillia, had a most wonderful time at the Mariposa Market..............a must when going there.

The hotel was way beyond my expectations, the room was Fantastic, and they surprised me with a

Bottle of Bubbly on Ice on our arrival. ! Room Service was so inexpensive for a hotel this

nice........my room was 1st class............Jacuzzi big enough for 3 people. !

My overall experience...............would be back in a Heart Beat. ! HIGHLY recommend this

Hotel...............will never dissapoint................awesome staff also.

The breakfast was excellent, way beyond a continental.

Love it. !

Room Tip: I would presume they are all excellent. !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurlingtonTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at the Stone Gate Inn for one night to attend the Roger Hodgson concert. If the occasion occurs again we certainly will stay at this Inn. Ms.Lisa Standfield director of operations was very nice and very welcoming. The location is next to a grocery store opened 24 hours a day and there is a beer store across the street.They also offer a shuttle to the casino Rama.

Room Tip: Connected rooms are very functional. The beds are comfortable++++
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 14 in Orillia
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection
13.4 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#6 of 19 in Barrie
1,085 reviews
20.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range: $122 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing