We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“70 year old had to sleep on floor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“70 year old had to sleep on floor!”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I booked two rooms three months ago, each with a king size bed (they didn't have any doubles left). Four of us were going to a concert at Casino Rama. I re-confirmed a month ago, asking then if I should give my credit card to hold rooms and was told no. My sister and I checked in and at that time, I told the desk that the other two people were checking in late. I asked about putting the other room on my credit card, and was told that wouldn't be necessary. I specifically said, "you won't give the room away will you?" and was told no, no we won't do that.
When we arrived at the hotel after our show, to check the other women in...you guessed it, they had given our second room away! We were shocked. Jennifer, the only employee on staff started phoning other hotels trying to find a room for us, but there was nothing available. After two hours of searching the hotel for two cots to set up in our room, only one could be found (which sagged in the middle). By two o'clock in the morning and after many trips back and forth to the front desk to see what could be done, we were exhausted. We had to make up a bed on the floor using a couple of duvets as a mattress, and my 70 year old cousin slept there!
Our thanks to Jennifer for doing what she could in a very frustrating and disappointing situation.
The next morning, the ladies whose room was given away were offered one gift certificate for a future date, and two 40% discount cards. I was quite surprised when I was given a bill for our room. Although they had reduced it by half, it was a very stressful and a somewhat sleepless night for all four of us sharing the room, and I think a little goodwill for all of the inconvenience would have gone a long way.
After having said all that, we did think the room was very nice, but not to share with four people! And the continental breakfast was quite good. I would probably recommend this hotel, however, make sure you insist on giving your credit card to hold your room!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rufus95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    135
    51
    14
    4
See reviews for
78
180
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Do not let this hotel fool you, while the breakfest is average they claim to be a children friendly hotel. We stayed there for a hockey tournement with a team of 7 year olds. Well never again. They were not allowed to play in the hallways, not allowed in the hottub so they found a little room upstairs where they could quietly watch a movie. Low and behold when they finished thier second game the little room (the only place the kids could play) was locked because" they decided too!!!" The royal "B" at the desk with the bun was something else. BEWARE OF THE BIG WOMAN WITH A BUN ON THE AFTERNOON SHIFT If they did not want our kids or our money why did they let us book into this hotel? If I could rate this hotel less than a zero for friendly service I would. My only advice is if you have kids, STAY AWAY, STAY AWAY! If you are over 80 and go to bed at 7 I am positive they will be glad to greet you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowmansw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDMDebbie, Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
They did not mention that they verbally abused the front desk staff to the point where she broke down in tears. This is the rudest hockey we ever had stay at our hotel. They had no respect for any of the other guest staying in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2010

My Husband and I always stay here when we come to Orillia.We would not even think of staying anywhere else.The Hotel is clean,comfortable and the staff are like Family when you walk in.It certainly is a bonus to be able to get out of bed on a morning and come down for BREAKFAST! If you missed a stay here...you're really missing out!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brantfordcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We loved the location of this hotel. After a delightful dinner at the Portage restaurant (which is located at the hotel) we all went for a walk on the trail that follows lake couchiching. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We could only stay one night but because of our experience at the Best Western Couchiching Inn we would definitely seek out another Best Western in our next travelling excursion, If we return to Orillia we will be returning to the Best Western Couchiching Inn. Thank you for such a memorable time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2009

This hotel is a great place and has everything you need. We loved the personalized service. The hotel is very stylish, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the area and will be back to visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBrantford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We attended a concert at Casino Rama and stayed just one night. At first glance, the room is very clean and tastefully decorated. We had a king size bed and if it wasnt for the fact that we paid for the concert tickets, we would have spent our time in the room!
The beds were amazing! As it was our best night sleep ever in a hotel, we were contemplating on staying another night. On mentioning the complete comfort of our stay, we were told that they had just purchased new beds, 'feather-bed' toppers, duvets and pillows. What a difference than your traditional hotel with hard beds and a thin bed spread.
The breakfast was wonderful; muffins, fruit salad, yogart, toast, cereal, french toast and cheese omlets. Not gourmet, but plentiful and hit the spot.
The staff was friendly and always with a welcoming smile.
We would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Very clean, very helpful front desk.

Breakfast was good but basic.

Shuttle service to the casino was great - they had extra buses since it was busy.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank libbyloujibjibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#12 of 14 in Orillia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knights Inn Orillia
Knights Inn Orillia
#6 of 14 in Orillia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
Address: 440 Couchiching Point Road, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6P8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Couchiching Hotel Orillia
Best Western Orillia
Orillia Best Western
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing